### Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs**

#### Assembly Bill 785

Relating to: creating Hmong-Lao Veterans Day.

By Representatives Snyder, Tusler, Billings, Edming, Emerson, Hintz, Katsma, Krug, Kulp, Kurtz, Murphy, Shankland, Spiros, Steffen, Thiesfeldt and Tittl; cosponsored by Senators Petrowski, Roth, Carpenter, Cowles, Jacque, Larson, Nass, Olsen and Ringhand.

January 22, 2020	Referred to Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs			
February 13, 2020	Public Hearing Held			
	Present: Absent:	(14)	Representative Skowronski; Representatives VanderMeer, Allen, Petryk, Edming, Kurtz, Summerfield, Ott, James, Hesselbein, Riemer, Milroy, Sinicki and Haywood. None.	
	Excused:	(1)	Representative Tittl.	

Appearances For

- Pat Snyder Wisc State Assembly •
- Jerry Petrowski Wisc State Senate •
- Bee Vang Wi-Lao Hmong Veterans Assoc. •
- Youa Chu Thor Wi-Lao Hmong Veterans Assoc. •

- Yang Vang Wi-Lao Hmong Veterans Assoc. •
- Za Blong Vang Wi-Lao Hmong Veterans Assoc. •

Appearances Against

None. •

Appearances for Information Only

None. •

Registrations For

None. •

Registrations Against

Warren Petryk - Wisc. State Assembly •

Registrations for Information Only

None. •

#### February 13, 2020 **Executive Session Held**

Present:	(14)	Representative Skowronski; Representatives		
		VanderMeer, Allen, Petryk, Edming, Kurtz,		
		Summerfield, Ott, James, Hesselbein, Riemer,		
		Milroy, Sinicki and Haywood.		
Absent:	(0)	None.		
Excused:	(1)	Representative Tittl.		

Moved by Representative Petryk, seconded by Representative Hesselbein that **Assembly Bill 785** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Skowronski; Representatives VanderMeer, Allen, Petryk, Edming, Kurtz, Summerfield, Ott, James, Hesselbein, Riemer, Milroy, Sinicki and Haywood.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Petryk, seconded by Representative Hesselbein that **Assembly Bill 785** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Skowronski; Representatives VanderMeer, Allen, Petryk, Edming, Kurtz, Summerfield, Ott, James, Hesselbein, Riemer, Milroy, Sinicki and Haywood.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Sarah Gibbs Committee Clerk