## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Transportation**

### **Assembly Bill 696**

Relating to: penalties for violations related to the motor vehicle liability insurance requirement, proof of financial responsibility, requirements for registering motor vehicles, operating a vehicle without an operator's license or after suspension or revocation of an operating privilege, making an appropriation, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Sanfelippo, Allen, Dittrich, Gundrum, Horlacher, Katsma, Knodl, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Murphy, Spiros, Skowronski, Tittl, Tusler and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Craig, Nass, Jacque and Marklein.

December 23, 2019 Referred to Committee on Transportation

January 14, 2020 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Kulp; Representatives Spiros,
		Thiesfeldt, Allen, Sanfelippo, Vorpagel,
		Murphy, Skowronski, Plumer, Kolste, Crowley,
		B. Meyers, Neubauer and Considine.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- State Rep Joe Sanfelippo 15th Assembly District
- Laurie Raul
- Dawn Trease
- Amanda Nora
- Dawn Nora

Appearances Against

- Elizabeth Groeschel Legal Action of WI Inc.
- Molly Gena Legal Action of WI Inc.
- Nicole Todd WI Community Services

## Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- State Senator David Craig 28th Senate District
- Denise Nuszbaum

Registrations Against

• None.

#### Registrations for Information Only

• Caty McDermott - WI Sheriff's and Deputy Sheriff's Assoc.

#### February 04, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Kulp; Representatives Spiros,
		Thiesfeldt, Allen, Sanfelippo, Vorpagel,
		Murphy, Skowronski, Kolste, B. Meyers,
		Neubauer and Considine.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Plumer and Crowley.

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Thiesfeldt that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

> Ayes: (10) Representative Kulp; Representatives Thiesfeldt, Sanfelippo, Vorpagel, Murphy, Skowronski, Kolste, B. Meyers, Neubauer and Considine.

Noes: (0) None.

# ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Thiesfeldt that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

> Ayes: (10) Representative Kulp; Representatives Thiesfeldt, Sanfelippo, Vorpagel, Murphy, Skowronski, Kolste, B. Meyers, Neubauer and Considine.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sanfelippo, seconded by Representative Vorpagel that **Assembly Bill 696** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representative Kulp; Representatives Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Allen, Sanfelippo, Vorpagel, Murphy and Skowronski. Noes: (4) Representatives Kolste, B. Meyers, Neubauer and Considine.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Laura Riske Committee Clerk