Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 132

Relating to: electric bicycles and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Rohrkaste, Goyke, Anderson, Billings, Bowen, Crowley, Duchow, Hutton, Jagler, L. Myers, Pope, Ramthun, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Steffen, Subeck, Swearingen, C. Taylor, Tusler, Vorpagel and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Roth, Risser, Bewley, Kooyenga, Larson, Miller, Olsen, Ringhand and Smith.

March 25, 2019 Referred to Committee on Transportation

April 23, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Kulp; Representatives Spiros,
Thiesfeldt, Allen, Sanfelippo, Vorpagel,
Murphy, Skowronski, Plumer, Kolste, Crowley,
B. Meyers, Neubauer and Considine.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- State Representative Mike Rohrkaste State Legislature 55th Assembly District
- State Representative Evan Goyke State Legislature -18th Assembly District
- Executive Director David Schlabowske WI Bike Fed
- Robert Burns Trek Bicycle Corp., PeopleForBikes & Bicycle Product Suppliers Assoc.
- Steve Arnold
- Rick Roesler
- Kate Shaw Cycling Without Age Greater Madison
- Noel Kegel Wheel & Sprocket

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Nicole Hudzinski American Heart Association
- Paul Malischke
- Cathy McDermott Harley Davidson Motor Company

- Steve Baas MMAC
- Buddy Julius Uber Technologies Inc / Jump
- Ninia Linen
- Chief Greg Leck Stoughton Police Department
- Alice O'Connor WI Chiefs of Police Association Inc

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

May 21, 2019 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Kulp; Representatives Spiros,
Thiesfeldt, Allen, Sanfelippo, Vorpagel,
Murphy, Skowronski, Kolste, Crowley, B.
Meyers, Neubauer and Considine.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Plumer.

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Kolste that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Kulp; Representatives Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Allen, Sanfelippo, Vorpagel, Murphy, Skowronski, Kolste, Crowley, B. Meyers, Neubauer and Considine.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Meyers that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Kulp; Representatives Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Allen, Sanfelippo, Vorpagel, Murphy, Skowronski, Kolste, Crowley, B. Meyers, Neubauer and Considine.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Crowley that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Kulp; Representatives Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Allen, Sanfelippo, Vorpagel, Murphy, Skowronski, Kolste, Crowley, B. Meyers, Neubauer and Considine.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Skowronski that **Assembly Bill 132** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Kulp; Representatives Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Allen, Sanfelippo, Vorpagel, Murphy, Skowronski, Kolste, Crowley, B. Meyers, Neubauer and Considine.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Laura Riske Committee Clerk