Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Substance Abuse and Prevention

Assembly Bill 645

Relating to: opioid antagonist administration in jails and medication-assisted treatment availability in prisons and jails.

By Representatives Born, Nygren, Billings, Bowen, Dittrich, Edming, Felzkowski, Jagler, Kitchens, Knodl, Kulp, Magnafici, Mursau, Novak, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Ramthun, Rohrkaste, Snyder, Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Tranel and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Cowles, Olsen and Wanggaard.

December 05, 2019 Referred to Committee on Substance Abuse and Prevention

January 08, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Plumer; Representatives Magnafici, Petryk, Hutton, James, Nygren, Kolste, Sargent and Billings.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Mark Born State Assembly
- Beth Fahlberg Dane County Jail
- Joe Parlapiano Safe Communities of Madison
- Joe Galey Safe Communities
- Jason Hundt Dodge County Jail
- David Mahoney Dane County
- Skye Baughman
- Michael Kemp Recovery & Addiction Professionals of WI
- Julie Labinski
- Taylor Boland Rigby WI Medical Society

Appearances Against

Mark Kelderman - Legal Me Up

Appearances for Information Only

- Andrew Whitacre Pew Charitable Trusts
- Kelly Bungs Fearless Wholistics
- Lisa Olson WI DHS
- Paul Krupski WI DHS

Registrations For

- Caty McDermott Badger State Sheriffs Assoc/Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Assoc
- Sen. Alberta Darling State Senate
- Erik Kanter WI Assoc of Local Health Depts and Boards
- Erik Kanter WI Public Health Assoc
- Kristina Vallaro
- Lane Hamilton WCPS and Safe Communities
- Tanya Kray Safe Communities
- Daniel Conners Madison Normal
- Attorney General Josh Kaul Wisconsin DOJ
- Dexter Lane

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

Sashi Gregory - WI Primary Healthcare Association

January 15, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present: (9) Representative Plumer; Representatives Magnafici, Petryk, Hutton, James, Nygren, Kolste, Sargent and Billings.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative James, seconded by Representative Kolste that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Plumer; Representatives Magnafici, Petryk, Hutton, James, Nygren, Kolste, Sargent and Billings.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Nygren, seconded by Representative Petryk that **Assembly Bill 645** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Plumer; Representatives Magnafici, Petryk, Hutton, James, Nygren, Kolste, Sargent and Billings.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Mitch Sands

Committee Clerk