Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Substance Abuse and Prevention

Assembly Bill 422

Relating to: raising the legal age for sale, purchase, and possession of cigarettes and nicotine and tobacco products, providing a legal age for sale, purchase, and possession of vapor products, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Spiros, Crowley, Dittrich, L. Myers, Oldenburg, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sargent, Vruwink, Bowen, Considine, Doyle, Emerson, Goyke, Haywood, James, Kolste, B. Meyers, Milroy, Mursau, Ohnstad, Pope, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Steffen, Stubbs, Subeck, C. Taylor, Wittke, Zamarripa and Fields; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Bewley, Darling, Olsen, Shilling, Johnson, Larson, Risser, Schachtner, L. Taylor, Wanggaard, Wirch and Cowles.

September 12, 2019 Referred to Committee on Substance Abuse and Prevention

November 06, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Plumer; Representatives
		Magnafici, Petryk, Hutton, James, Nygren,
		Kolste, Sargent and Billings.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Rep. John Spiros State Assembly
- Dr. Michael Fiore UW Medical School
- Gregg Wieczorek Arrowhead High School
- Dr. James Meyer Marshfield Clinic
- Dr. Louelle Amos Children's Hospital of Wisconsin
- Fred Wojciechowski Pro Clouds
- Gabrielle Ralphe American Heart Association
- Bryn Dresselhuys
- Nicole Hudzinga American Heart Association
- Dr. Vivek Balasubramian UW Health
- Dr. Brian Williams UW Health
- Matthew McDiermid American College of Cardiology: WI Chapter
- Chris Medenwaldt Monroe School District
- Jim Karedes Delavan-Darien School District
- Ann Morledge Dodge
- Kellie Kalberer
- Dr. Tim Sanborn

- Carrie Chapman
- Nia Kamara Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids
- Steven Elliott
- Nora Alaniz

Appearances Against

• Sara Sahli - American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network

Appearances for Information Only

- Kayla McPike FACT
- Ta'Niya Robinson FACT
- Dona Wininsky American Lung Association

Registrations For

- Sen. Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- Garth Alston Altria
- Dan Rossmiller Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Dr. Christina Barreda
- Carrie Nevins
- Oby Nwabuza
- Andrew Gussert Boys & Girls Clubs of Wisconsin
- Caty McDermott Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Andrew Gustafson SSM Health
- Andy Engel Walmart
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Chiefs of Police
- Greg Leck Wisconsin Chiefs of Police
- Amy Boyer Juul Labs
- Sen. Janet Bewley 25th Senate District
- Sen. Jennifer Shilling 32nd Senate District
- Grant Huber Department of Public Instruction
- TR Williams WI Primary Healthcare Association
- HJ Waukau Wisconsin Medical Society
- Tim Hoven WI Academy of Family Physicians
- Kayla Fannan Infinite Vapor
- Andrew Hanus Aurora Healthcare
- Michelle Kussow Wisconsin Grocers Association
- Dr. John Morledge
- Camilla McKay
- Katie Connolly
- Charmaine Friar
- Eric Sarno

- Brian Bennett
- Alice Mukunjurs
- Aaron Kinney CHN
- Anoop K. Singh
- Steve Mintz
- Catherine Kolkmeier
- Judy Wendorf
- Rachel Schowalter
- Katie Horrigan
- Maisie Finnegan
- Jen Mance
- Elizabeth Walker
- Amanda Stanke
- Sarah Yale
- Dr, Sarang Baman
- Gary Starr
- Bethany Klein
- Beth Grosman
- Tim Nikolai
- Grace Simono
- Brad Gast
- Jack Simono
- Cyndi Wood

Registrations Against

- Michael Bogaards
- Tom Moore Cigar Association of America
- Bob Welch SI Group Client Services
- Elizabeth Geiger
- Greta Johnson
- Vicki Ballweg
- Jodi Jalving Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids

Registrations for Information Only

- Darcie Warren Youth 2 Youth 4 Change
- Lauren Cnare Tobacco Free Coalition Dane County

February 12, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Plumer; Representatives
		Magnafici, Petryk, Hutton, James, Nygren,
		Kolste, Sargent and Billings.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Billings, seconded by Representative Petryk that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (3) Representatives Kolste, Sargent and Billings.
- Noes: (6) Representative Plumer; Representatives Magnafici, Petryk, Hutton, James and Nygren.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION, Ayes 3, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Petryk, seconded by Representative Magnafici that Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (6) Representative Plumer; Representatives Magnafici, Petryk, Hutton, James and Nygren.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Kolste, Sargent and Billings.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Magnafici, seconded by Representative Hutton that **Assembly Bill 422** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (6) Representative Plumer; Representatives Magnafici, Petryk, Hutton, James and Nygren.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Kolste, Sargent and Billings.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Mitch Sands Committee Clerk