## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on State Affairs**

#### **Assembly Bill 869**

Relating to: creating a private event venue permit issued by the Department of Revenue; the issuance by the Department of Revenue of retail alcohol beverage permits for motor vehicle racetrack grounds and for the state fair park; authorizing caterers to make retail sales of alcohol beverages on racetrack grounds; closing hours for certain alcohol beverage retailers and wineries and hours for retail sales by brewers; and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Swearingen, Kuglitsch, Vorpagel, Schraa, Loudenbeck, Summerfield, Fields, Haywood and Sinicki.

February 10, 2020 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

February 12, 2020 Public Hearing Held

Present: (15) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Tauchen, Jagler, Schraa, Knodl, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Kulp, Vorpagel, Sinicki, McGuire, Ohnstad, Crowley, Stubbs and Cabrera.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Representative Rob Swearingen 34th Assembly District
- James Bohl City of MIlwaukee
- Kevin Gallagher Marcus Hotels & Resorts
- Kristine Hillmer WI Restaurant Association
- John Yingling State Fair Park
- Kristi Chuckel State Fair Park
- Chris Marsicano TLW
- Mark Puetz TLW
- Don Mjelde TLW
- Brian Boeckenstedt Bella Vita Banquets
- Pat Poutell
- John Brixy Town of Blue Mound
- Carrie Tryba Tryba's Simply Country, LLC
- Jim Tryba Tryba's Simply Country, LLC

## Appearances Against

• Andrew Gierczan - Mobcraft

- Liz Henry WI Distillers
- Issac Showaki WI Breweries
- Joel Yager WI Breweries
- Jean Bahn
- Mark Garthwaite
- Ryan Prellwitz WI Winery Association
- Stephen Nagy Homestead Meadows Farm
- John Govin Govin Farm
- David Muehl Badger Farms

#### Appearances for Information Only

Kendal Brewunig

#### Registrations For

- Rep Jason Fields 11th Assembly District
- Pete Madland TLW
- Ray Bruch TLW
- Dave Sekeres Lake Lawn Resort
- Kathi Kilgore WI Hotel & Lodging Association
- Rebecca Hogar WI Association & Visitors Bureau
- Ray Garreau Kelly's Pub
- Scott Stenger TLW
- Lori Frommgen TLW
- Erick Frommgen TLW
- Paul Salzwedel Tall Pauls
- Jay Radies Grizzs Bar
- Doug Korth Badger Tap, LLC
- Tom Hone Landmark
- Lorie Helm Landmark
- Mike Vales
- Eric Knight Association of WI Tourism Attractions
- Susan Quam WI Restaurant Association
- John Kavanaugh Esquire Club
- Cathy Vales Mike & Kathy's Good Old Days

#### Registrations Against

- Representative Scott Allen 97th Assembly District
- Henry Schwartz
- Jacquelyn Forbes-Kearn Mosinee Brewing Company
- Joe Henry Henry Farms Prarie Spirits
- Sheila Everhart WI Agri-Tourism Association
- Brian Sammons Twisted Path Distillery
- Kara O'Connor WI Farmers Union
- John Mleziva State Line Distillery

- Michael McDonald State LIne Distillery
- Evan Hughes Central Standard Craft Distillery
- Guy Rehorst Great Lakes Distillery
- Nick Abramovich Doundrins Distilling
- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity
- Mike Doble The Explorium Brew Pub
- Debi Towns WI Farm Bureau
- Mike Reibez Dancing Goat Distillery
- Nels Forde Yahara Bay Distillers
- Robert Larson Tyranena Brewing Co.
- Stacey Schraufnagel Tyranena Brewing Co.
- Dan Weber Time Keepers Distillery
- Brian Cummins Great Northern Distillery
- Paul Werni 45th Parallel
- Bobby Fleshman McFleshman's Brewing
- Grant Pauly 3 Sheeps Brewing Co.
- Caleb Despins Hatch Distilling Co.
- Ben Fogle Appleton Beer Factory
- Steve Johnson Parallel 44 & Door 44 Winery
- Bryan Manning Vintage Brewing Co.
- Adam Kruser Tricor Insurance
- William Glass The Brewing Projekt
- Kristopher Volkman The Fermentorium Brewery
- Andrew Fabry
- Diana Hobson DNA Vintners
- Todd Roessler Elmaro Vineyard
- Carl Nolen WI Brewing Co.
- Christ Christon Second Salem Brewing
- Trent Kraemer Vintage Brewing Co.
- Tami Plourde Pearl St. Brewery
- Joe Katchever Pearl St. Brewery
- Julie Coquard Wollersheim Winery & Distillery
- Max Bargardt Eagle Park Brewing & Distilling
- Nick Reistad Raised Grain Brewing Co.
- Aimee Arrigoni Bailey's Run Vineyard
- Janet Kuehl Bailey's Run Vineyard
- Todd Kuehl Bailey's Run Vineyard
- Sarah Ferree Ooga Brewing Co.
- Jeff Scanlan Ooga Brewing Co.
- Adam Mielke Pigeon River Brewing Co.
- Michelle Lasecki Pigeon River Brewing Co.
- Nathan Knaack Pigeon River Brewing Co.
- Chalres Hall Full Mile Beer Co.
- Marc Buttera O'so Brewing Co.

- David Knuth Knuth Brewing Co.
- Jay Stoeger Cold Country Vines & Wines
- Kay Stroeger Cold Country Vines & Wines
- Dan Hanson Fawn Creek Winery
- John Marx Fawn Creek Winery
- CJ Wirsching-Neuser Vines to Cellar Winery
- James Wirsching-Neuser Vines to Cellar Winery
- Madeline Fritz Potosi Brewing Company
- Kim Hamilton White Winter Winery
- Jon Hamilton White Winter Winery
- Meena DeFilippis Karben 4 Brewing
- Zak Koga Karben 4 Brewing
- Matthew Boegner Balanced Rock Winery
- Jonathan Bare Ringling Brewing Co.
- Tom Lenorz
- Celine Lenerz
- Zachary Pick Black Husky Brewing
- Ryan Browne Working Draft Beer Co.
- Joe Yeado Gathering Place Brewing
- Ross Nelson Mel's Micro Brew, LLC
- David Dupee Good City Brewing
- Chris Roedl Hatch Distilling Co.

#### Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### February 13, 2020 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Tauchen, Jagler, Schraa, Knodl, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Kulp, Vorpagel, Sinicki, McGuire, Ohnstad, Stubbs and Cabrera.

Absent: (1) Representative Crowley.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Knodl, seconded by Representative Vorpagel that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Swearingen; Representatives
Tauchen, Jagler, Schraa, Knodl, Kuglitsch,
Summerfield, Kulp, Vorpagel, Sinicki,
McGuire, Ohnstad, Stubbs and Cabrera.

Noes: (0) None.

# ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Vorpagel, seconded by Representative Sinicki that **Assembly Bill 869** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Jagler, Schraa, Knodl, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Kulp, Vorpagel, Sinicki, McGuire, Ohnstad, Stubbs and Cabrera.

Noes: (1) Representative Tauchen.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 1

\_\_\_\_\_

Joe Mesec Committee Clerk