Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Regulatory Licensing Reform

Assembly Bill 686

Relating to: the regulation and licensure of genetic counselors, creating a genetic counselors affiliated credentialing board, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Steffen, Brostoff, Anderson, Born, Duchow, Kitchens, Krug, Kuglitsch, Spiros, Dittrich, Doyle, Novak and James; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Carpenter, Johnson, Olsen, Wirch, Bernier and Larson.

December 20, 2019 Referred to Committee on Regulatory Licensing Reform

February 13, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Representative Horlacher; Representatives
Ballweg, Allen, Sortwell, Quinn, Brostoff and
Stuck.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Macco and L. Myers.

Appearances For

- Representative David Steffen 4th Assembly District
- Senator Alberta Darling 8th Senate District
- Peter Levonian UW Health
- Christina Zaleski WI GC Association & Prevention Genetic
- Becky Pabst
- Deborah Wham

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Representative Gary Hebl 46th Assembly District
- Victoria Blank
- Holli Hebl
- Sumedha Ghate WIGCA (WI Genetic Counselors Association)
- Ann Seubert
- Ashley Kuhl WIGCA

- April Hall WI Genetic Counselor Association
- Sara Zoran WIGCA
- Alex Cummings UW Health
- Catherine Reiser Master of GC Studies (Director)
- Caroline Kielczeuski WIGCA
- Jessica Grzybarski WICGA
- Andrea Nagl WIGCA
- Jill Ciske WIGCA
- Stephanie Gerber
- Cristin Griffis
- Amy Stoffner
- Sarah Choi
- Zarif Zaman
- Jennifer Meyer
- Katie Tobik Genetic Counseling
- H.J. Waukau WI Medical Society
- Kate Orland UW Madison
- Kelcy Smith UW Health
- Kendra Eaves
- Sam Stachowiak
- Sarah Linn MCW
- Allison Thomsen
- Nathan Berken Meidcal College of Wisconsin (MCW)

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 26, 2020 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Anna Schwarz
Committee Clerk