Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Public Benefit Reform

Assembly Bill 119

Relating to: grants to homeless shelters, modifying administrative rules promulgated by the Department of Administration, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Steineke, Rodriguez, Snyder, Pronschinske, Kurtz, Plumer, Dittrich, James, Tittl, Mursau, Felzkowski, Rohrkaste, Spiros, Steffen, Allen, Duchow, Kulp, Petryk, Petersen, Thiesfeldt, Kitchens, Edming, Schraa, Krug, Murphy and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Carpenter and L. Taylor.

March 25, 2019 Referred to Committee on Public Benefit Reform

April 23, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Krug; Representatives Petersen,
		Brandtjen, Schraa, Ramthun, Sortwell, Subeck,
		Neubauer and C. Taylor.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Representative Jim Steineke
- Representative John Plumer
- Mr. Rafael Acevedo Milwaukee Continuum of Care
- Mr. Jim Bestol Wisconsin Apartment Association
- Ms. Andi Elliot Milwaukee Continuum of Care
- Ms. Tori Kopp Mueller Homeless Services Consortium of Dane County
- Mr. Scott People Pillars
- Ms. Carrie Poser Racine Continum of Care
- Mr. Joseph Volk Wisconsin Coalition Against Homelessness
- Ms. Wendy Wexler Milwaukee Continuum of Care
- Ms. Lexi Wood St. John's Homeless Shelter, Green Bay

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Ms. Jodi Bloch - Children's Hospital of Wisconsin

- Ms. Eve M. Dorman Herself
- Mr. Gary Goyke Wisconsin Apartment Association
- Mr. Gary Goyke Himself
- Ms. Gail Lorzensen Racine Continuum of Care
- Ms. Katie Jaeger HSC
- Ms. Jan Miyasaki Project Respect
- Mr. Brad Paul Wisconsin Community Action Program (WISCAP)
- Ms. Adrienne Roach End Domestic Abuse Wisconsin

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

June 04, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present:	(8)	Representative Krug; Representatives Petersen,
		Brandtjen, Ramthun, Sortwell, Subeck,
		Neubauer and C. Taylor.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Schraa.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Brandtjen that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (1) Representative Sortwell.
- Noes: (7) Representative Krug; Representatives Petersen, Brandtjen, Ramthun, Subeck, Neubauer and C. Taylor.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 1, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (5) Representative Krug; Representatives Petersen, Brandtjen, Ramthun and Sortwell.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Subeck, Neubauer and C. Taylor.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Petersen that Assembly Amendment 2 be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (7) Representative Krug; Representatives Petersen, Brandtjen, Ramthun, Subeck, Neubauer and C. Taylor.
- Noes: (1) Representative Sortwell.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Bill 119** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives Petersen, Brandtjen, Ramthun, Sortwell, Subeck, Neubauer and C. Taylor.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

John Reinemann Committee Clerk