# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Medicaid Reform and Oversight**

#### Assembly Bill 81

Relating to: licensure of dental therapists; extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures; providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures; providing an exemption from rule-making procedures; and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Felzkowski, Nygren, Kolste, Mursau, Neylon, Pronschinske, Skowronski, Snyder, Stafsholt, Tauchen, Quinn, Dittrich, Emerson, Gundrum, Hutton, Katsma, Kulp, Magnafici, L. Myers, Plumer, Ramthun, Schraa, Tusler, Wittke and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Craig, Darling, L. Taylor, Kapenga, Tiffany, Kooyenga, Bernier, Hansen, Stroebel and Schachtner.

March 18, 2019 Referred to Committee on Medicaid Reform and Oversight

December 18, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(8)	Representative Summerfield; Representatives
		Neylon, Dittrich, Wichgers, Stafsholt, Riemer,
		Kolste and Anderson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Brooks.

## Appearances For

- Representative Mary Felzkowski 35th Assembly District
- Senator Dave Craig 28th Senate District
- Matt Rossetto Wisconsin Dental Association
- Doctor Patrick Tepe Wisconsin Dental Association
- Jane Koppelman PEW Charitable Trusts
- Mary Williard Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium
- Mark Rakowski Children's Community Health Plan
- Doctor Mike Helgeson Apple Tree Dental
- Ann Lynch American Dental Hygienists Association
- Helen Marks Dicks AARP
- Jeannie Worden North Central Technical College
- Marlene Roberts North Central Technical College
- Christy Jo Fogarty Children's Dental Services
- Doctor Fred Eichmiller Delta Dental of Wisconsin
- Tina Sopiwnik Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition
- Matt Crespin Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin
- T.R. Williams Wisconsin Primary Health Care Association

- Annie Meece Ascension Wisconsin
- CEO Michael Pochowski Wisconsin Assisted Living Association
- Jeff Kaphengst Disability Service Provider Network, Inc.
- David Fladeboe Badger Institute
- Julie Grace Badger Institute
- Julia Stanley UW Health
- Dennis Skrajewski Wisconsin Association of Free & Charitable Clinics
- Tami Jackson Board for People with Developmental Disabilities
- Lisa Pugh The Arc Wisconsin
- William Parke-Sutherland Kids Forward

#### Appearances Against

- Mary Czech-Mrochinski Marquette University
- Doctor William Lobb Marquette University School of Dentistry
- Doctor Louis Boryc Wisconsin Academy of General Dentistry
- Doctor Cliff Hartmann
- Monica Hebl Wisconsin Dental Association

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

- Representative John Nygren 89th Assembly District
- Barbara Beckert Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Jodi Bloch Children's Wisconsin
- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity Wisconsin
- Richard Crary AARP
- David Dora AARP
- Melissa Duffy Common Ground Healthcare Cooperative
- Sara Finger Wisconsin Alliance for Women's Health
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Carol Greene AARP
- Andrew Gustafson SSM Health
- Judith Hirsch AARP
- Linda Jorgenson Wisconsin Dental Hygienists' Association
- Judith Joslin-Crary AARP
- Joe Kallas AARP

- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards
- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Public Health Association
- Robyn Kibler
- Jerry Lamont AARP
- Wilma Lamont AARP
- Jennifer Lehto Wisconsin Dental Hygienists' Association
- Jeremy Levin Rural Wisconsin Health Cooperative
- Tim Lundquist Wisconsin Association of Health Plans
- Carol Martell AARP
- Stuart Martell AARP
- Forbes McIntosh Oneida Nation
- Kimberly Montgomery City of Milwaukee
- Doloris O'Laughlin AARP
- R.J. Pirlot Alliance of Health Insurers
- Mike Repka
- Laura Rose Wisconsin Hospital Association
- Kelly Schroeder Wisconsin Dental Hygienists' Association
- Connie Schulze UW Health
- Deborah Schumacher Wisconsin Dental Hygienists' Association
- Joe Strohl Menominee Tribe

## Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

- Debra DeNure Public Health MDC
- Lisa Pugh Survival Coalition of Wisconsin Disability Organizations
- March 26, 2020 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Matalin Schoone Committee Clerk