Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Local Government

Assembly Bill 661

Relating to: the way town board vacancies are filled; public notice requirements for governmental meetings; appointment and removal procedures for certain town officeholders; a process for an applicant to appeal a permit denial to the governing body of a city, village, or town; wages paid to an elected town officer who also serves as a town employee; and the term of appointed town assessors.

By Representatives Quinn, Summerfield, Ballweg, Brooks, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Felzkowski, James, Kitchens, Krug, Kulp, Kurtz, Magnafici, B. Meyers, Milroy, Mursau, Novak, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Schraa, Swearingen, Tittl, Tusler, VanderMeer, Wichgers, Wittke and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Tiffany, Bernier, Bewley, LeMahieu, Marklein, Ringhand and Schachtner.

December 05, 2019 Referred to Committee on Local Government

December 12, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Novak; Representatives
		Gundrum, Duchow, Steffen, Skowronski,
		Brooks, Spreitzer, Subeck and Gruszynski.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- State Senator Andre Jacque Wisconsin State Legislature
- Mike Koles Wisconsin Towns Association
- Joe Ruth Wisconsin Towns Association
- Jerry Derr Wisconsin Towns Association
- Rocco Vita Wisconsin Association of Assessing Officers
- Keith Wohlfert Town of Oxford

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- State Representative Romaine Quinn Wisconsin State Legislature
- Robert Manson Town of Plymouth

- Betty Manson
- Phil Hewitt Town of Viroqua
- Jolene Plautz Wisconsin Towns Associations

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 23, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present:(9)Representative Novak; Representatives
Gundrum, Duchow, Steffen, Skowronski,
Brooks, Spreitzer, Subeck and Goyke.Absent:(0)None.Excused:(0)None.

Moved by Representative Brooks, seconded by Representative Skowronski that **Assembly Bill 661** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (9) Representative Novak; Representatives Gundrum, Duchow, Steffen, Skowronski, Brooks, Spreitzer, Subeck and Goyke.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Jake Wolf Committee Clerk