Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary

Assembly Bill 112

Relating to: eligibility of Washington Island Observer newspaper to receive compensation for publication of legal notices and the content of affidavits of printing filed as evidence of publication.

By Representatives Kitchens, Duchow, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Rohrkaste, Skowronski, Spreitzer, Steffen, Subeck and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Cowles and Olsen.

| March 22, 2019 | Referred to Committee on Judiciary | |
|----------------|------------------------------------|--|
| April 11, 2019 | Public Hearing Held | |

| Present: | (9) | Representative Ott; Representatives Horlacher, |
|----------|-----|--|
| | | Thiesfeldt, Brooks, Tusler, Kerkman, |
| | | Anderson, Hebl and Cabrera. |
| Absent: | (0) | None. |
| Excused: | (0) | None. |

Appearances For

- Rep. Kitchen, bill's author
- Senator Andre Jacque, bill's author
- Lucia Petrie Washington Island Observer
- Karen Yancey Washington Island Observer
- Dale Cissna Washington Island Observer

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Beth Bennett Wisconsin Newspaper Assoc
- Robert Petrie Washington Island Observer

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

| Present: | (8) | Representative Ott; Representatives Horlacher, |
|----------|-----|--|
| | | Thiesfeldt, Brooks, Kerkman, Anderson, Hebl |
| | | and Cabrera. |
| Absent: | (0) | None. |
| Excused: | (1) | Representative Tusler. |

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

> Ayes: (8) Representative Ott; Representatives Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Brooks, Kerkman, Anderson, Hebl and Cabrera.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Bill 112** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (8) Representative Ott; Representatives Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Brooks, Kerkman, Anderson, Hebl and Cabrera.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Virginia Mueller Committee Clerk