## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Jobs and the Economy**

#### Assembly Bill 234

Relating to: limiting the authority of the state and political subdivisions to regulate certain wireless facilities and authorizing political subdivisions to impose setback requirements for certain mobile service support structures.

By Representatives Kuglitsch, Fields, Neylon, Stuck, Duchow, Gruszynski, Horlacher, Kulp, Mursau, Novak, Rohrkaste, Snyder, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tusler, Vruwink, Considine, Felzkowski, Subeck and Spiros; cosponsored by Senators LeMahieu, Hansen, Feyen, Johnson, Cowles, Nass and Wanggaard.

May 23, 2019 Referred to Committee on Jobs and the Economy

May 29, 2019 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (13) Representative Neylon; Representatives

Snyder, Dittrich, Kulp, Tittl, Wittke,

Magnafici, Ballweg, Ohnstad, Neubauer, Stuck,

Fields and Zamarripa.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Macco.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Mike Kuglitsch 84th Assembly District
- Sen. Devin LeMahieu 9th Senate District
- Stephanie Cassioppi U.S. Cellular
- Lauren Nevil T-Mobile
- Scott VanderSanden AT&T
- Melia Carter Verizon
- Eric Swanson Dept. Physics, Univ. of Pittsburgh / CTIA
- Andy Emerson AT&T

#### Appearances Against

- Elaine Lunger Wisconsin for Safe Technology
- Julie Lewandowski WI for Safe
- Catherine Klecher WI for Safe Technology
- Carol Siebert Wi for Safe Technology
- Terry Siebert Wisconsin for Safe Technology
- Jan Young WI for Safe Technology
- Norma Miller WI for Safe Technology
- Bill Kewan Wi for Safe Technology
- Craig Presley WI for Safe Technology

- John Unger WI for Safe Technology
- Mark Kuether self
- Sarah Hillman self

#### Appearances for Information Only

• Larry Lueck - Cellcom & Nsight

### Registrations For

- Sen. Rob Cowles 2nd Senate District
- Patrick Fucik Sprint
- Siely Joshi Crown Castle
- Kent Disch AT&T
- Steve Lyons WI Technology Council
- Arturo Chang Wireless Infrastructure Association

### Registrations Against

- Bruce Lewandowski WI for Safe Technology
- Lisa Luedtke self
- Kathy Lewandowski WI for Safe Technology
- Lori Presley WI for Safe Technology
- M. Livine self
- Susan Wichman self
- Sarah Hillman self
- Brenda Wood self
- Erin Bunk Wiconsin United for Freedom
- Mayor John Antaramian City of Kenosha

#### Registrations for Information Only

Joel Haubrich - WEC

#### June 04, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Neylon; Representatives
Snyder, Dittrich, Kulp, Tittl, Macco, Wittke,
Magnafici, Ballweg, Ohnstad, Neubauer, Stuck,
Fields and Zamarripa.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Ohnstad, seconded by Representative Ballweg that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Neylon; Representatives Snyder, Dittrich, Kulp, Tittl, Macco, Wittke, Magnafici, Ballweg, Ohnstad, Neubauer, Stuck, Fields and Zamarripa.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Ohnstad, seconded by Representative Zamarripa that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Representatives Ohnstad, Neubauer and Zamarripa.

Noes: (11) Representative Neylon; Representatives Snyder, Dittrich, Kulp, Tittl, Macco, Wittke, Magnafici, Ballweg, Stuck and Fields.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 11

Moved by Representative Zamarripa, seconded by Representative Neubauer that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Representatives Ohnstad, Neubauer and Zamarripa.

Noes: (11) Representative Neylon; Representatives Snyder, Dittrich, Kulp, Tittl, Macco, Wittke, Magnafici, Ballweg, Stuck and Fields.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 11

Moved by Representative Ohnstad, seconded by Representative Zamarripa that **Assembly Amendment 4** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Ohnstad, Neubauer, Stuck and Zamarripa.

Noes: (10) Representative Neylon; Representatives Snyder, Dittrich, Kulp, Tittl, Macco, Wittke, Magnafici, Ballweg and Fields.

# ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 4 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 10

Moved by Representative Ohnstad, seconded by Representative Zamarripa that **Assembly Amendment 5** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Macco, Ohnstad, Neubauer and Zamarripa.

Noes: (10) Representative Neylon; Representatives Snyder, Dittrich, Kulp, Tittl, Wittke, Magnafici, Ballweg, Stuck and Fields.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 5 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 10

Moved by Representative Ohnstad, seconded by Representative Neubauer that **Assembly Amendment 6** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Macco, Ohnstad, Neubauer and Zamarripa.

Noes: (10) Representative Neylon; Representatives Snyder, Dittrich, Kulp, Tittl, Wittke, Magnafici, Ballweg, Stuck and Fields.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 6 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 10

Moved by Representative Tittl, seconded by Representative Snyder that **Assembly Bill 234** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Neylon; Representatives Snyder, Dittrich, Kulp, Tittl, Macco, Wittke, Magnafici, Ballweg, Ohnstad, Neubauer, Stuck and Fields.

Noes: (1) Representative Zamarripa.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 1

Joe Zapf
Committee Clerk