Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 542

Relating to: allowing reimbursement of certain expenses for patients participating in cancer clinical trials.

By Representatives Kulp, Duchow, Rodriguez, Dittrich, Sinicki, Skowronski, Tittl, Steffen, Spiros, Ott, Mursau, Knodl, Kerkman, Horlacher, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Anderson, Allen and C. Taylor; cosponsored by Senators Kooyenga, Darling, Carpenter, Erpenbach, Jacque, L. Taylor, Smith, Olsen and Craig.

October 14, 2019 Referred to Committee on Health

January 07, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, Felzkowski, Magnafici, Kolste, Riemer, Anderson and Vining.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives VanderMeer and Subeck.

Appearances For

- State Rep. Cindi Duchow 99th District
- Laura Riske Office of State Rep. Bob Kulp, 69th District
- Dr. James Thomas Medical College of WI
- Nataliya Woha UW School of Medicine
- Jeron Jackson Marshfield Clinic
- Adrian Plesha Lazarex Cancer Foundation
- Jim Thomas Medical College of WI
- Dr. Kurt Oettel Gunderson Health
- Paul Westrick
- Sara Sahli American Cancer Society

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- HJ Waukau WI Medical Society
- State Sen. Dale Kooyenga 5th District

- Connie Schulze UW Health
- Jodi Bloch Children's Hospital of WI
- Forbes Mcintosh WI Nurses Association
- Kathryn Kuhn Medical College of WI

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 29, 2020 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski,
Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski,
Magnafici, Kolste, Riemer, Subeck, Anderson
and Vining.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kolste, seconded by Representative Skowronski that **Assembly Bill 542** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski, Magnafici, Kolste, Riemer, Subeck, Anderson and Vining.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Joshua Hoisington Committee Clerk