## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Health**

#### **Assembly Bill 648**

Relating to: physical health services and acupuncture under Medical Assistance program and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Nygren, Novak, Born, Snyder, Petersen, Quinn, Felzkowski, Edming, Kulp, Magnafici, Plumer, Horlacher, Rohrkaste, Knodl, Tusler, Petryk, Tranel, Thiesfeldt, Jagler, Mursau, Ramthun and Billings; cosponsored by Senators Bernier, Olsen and Wanggaard.

December 05, 2019 Referred to Committee on Health

January 07, 2020 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (13) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez,

Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, Felzkowski, Magnafici,

Kolste, Riemer, Anderson and Vining.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives VanderMeer and Subeck.

## Appearances For

State Rep. John Nygren - 89th District

- Andrew Hoyer-Booth WI DHS
- Steve Tyska WI DHS
- Lynn Steffes WI Physical Therapy Association
- Eugene Yellen-Shiring WI Chiropractic Association
- Steven Conway Chiropractic Society of WI
- William Dunbar Midwest College of Oriental Medicine
- Kelly Hora WI Society of Acupuncturists

#### Appearances Against

None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### Registrations For

- Bob Welch WI Occupational Therapy Association
- Jennifer Labonte WOTH
- John Murray WI Chiropractic Association
- Tom Moore WI Chiropractic Association
- John Burns Advocate Aurora Health
- Dennis Kaster WI Physical Therapy Association
- Andrew Hanus Aurora Health Care
- HJ Waukau WI Medical Society
- State Sen. Kathy Bernier 23rd District
- Carly Meyer WI Primary Health Care Association

#### Registrations Against

• None.

#### Registrations for Information Only

None.

## January 15, 2020 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez,

Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski,

Magnafici, Kolste, Riemer, Subeck, Anderson and Vining.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Edming, seconded by Representative Wichgers that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski, Magnafici and Kolste.

Noes: (4) Representatives Riemer, Subeck, Anderson and Vining.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Kurtz, seconded by Representative Wichgers that **Assembly Bill 648** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski, Magnafici, Kolste, Riemer, Subeck, Anderson and Vining.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Joshua Hoisington

Committee Clerk