Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 238

Relating to: diabetes care and prevention plan.

By Representatives Vorpagel, Sargent, Anderson, Billings, Cabrera, Considine, Crowley, Edming, Fields, Hintz, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Kurtz, Magnafici, L. Myers, Novak, Ohnstad, Petryk, Pope, Ramthun, Rohrkaste, Shankland, Snyder, Spiros, Subeck, Tittl, Tusler, C. Taylor and Skowronski; cosponsored by Senators Darling, L. Taylor, Carpenter, Feyen, Hansen, Johnson, Larson, Olsen, Ringhand, Smith and Wirch.

May 24, 2019 Referred to Committee on Health

July 10, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski, Magnafici, Kolste, Riemer and Subeck.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Anderson and Vining.

Appearances For

- State Representative Tyler Vorpagel 27th Assembly District
- State Representative Melissa Sargent 48th Assembly District
- Rene Walters UW Health
- Sara Schumacher UW Health
- Anand Iyer Welldoc
- Jeff Perzan Diabetes Advisory Group
- Jennifer Schmidt American Diabetes Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Lisa Olson WI Department of Health Services
- Mary Pesik WI Department f Health Services

Registrations For

- Erik Kanter WI Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
- David Moody Nova Nordisk, Inc.
- State Senator Alberta Darling 8th District
- Chris Nyland

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Present: (15)Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski, Magnafici, Kolste, Riemer, Subeck, Anderson and Vining. Absent: (0)None. Excused: (0)None. Moved by Representative Edming, seconded by Representative Skowronski that Assembly Bill 238 be recommended for passage. (14) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Ayes: Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Magnafici, Kolste, Riemer, Subeck, Anderson and Vining. Noes: (0)None. (1) Representative Felzkowski. Recused: PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0 Moved by Representative Edming, seconded by Representative Skowronski that Assembly Bill 238 be recommended for passage. Ayes: (14) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Magnafici, Kolste, Riemer, Subeck, Anderson and Vining. (1) Representative Felzkowski. Noes: PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

> Joshua Hoisington Committee Clerk