Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Federalism and Interstate Relations

Assembly Joint Resolution 77

Relating to: convention of the States for one or more Constitutional amendments restraining abuses of power by the federal government.

By Representatives Knodl, Brandtjen, Edming, Felzkowski, Hutton, Ramthun, Schraa, Sortwell, Dittrich, Horlacher, Gundrum, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Kurtz, Magnafici, Mursau, Neylon, Ott, Petryk, Quinn, Stafsholt, Summerfield, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Tiffany, Bernier, Jacque, Nass, Stroebel and Marklein.

August 14, 2019 Referred to Committee on Federalism and Interstate Relations

November 13, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (6) Representative Vorpagel; Representatives Schraa, Kerkman, Hutton, Horlacher and C. Taylor.

Absent: (1) Representative L. Myers.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Dan Knodl
- Ken Quinn U.S. Term Limits
- Marvin Wagner Convention of States & AMAC
- Leon Rosen
- Mark Meckler Convention of States Action
- Brian Higgins
- Dwayne Parkinson
- Lisa Thompson-Bingenheiner
- Vince Gurichan
- Sarah Peloquin
- Daniel Gumbert
- Doug Dorn
- David Certa
- Mike Pulvemacher Convention of States
- Tom Ward Convention of States
- Taylor Rens
- Joanne Laufenberg

Appearances Against

• Representative Lakeshia Myers

- Andrea Kaminski League of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- Edward Perkins
- Christian Gomez The John Birch Society
- Larry Greenley The John Birch Society
- Ted Grob Jr.
- Ralph Skowron
- David Lewis

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Senator Tom Tiffany
- Terry Certa Convention of States
- Clifford Cash Convention of States
- Daniel Steiner Convention of States
- David Schallert Convention of States
- John Scott
- Elizabeth Scott
- Dave Zwicky
- Lori Parkinson
- Jennifer Carey
- Jacob Peloquin Convention of States
- Dennis Schmidt Convention of States
- Lori Pulvermacher Convention of States
- Laura McMillan
- Louis Willie Convention of States
- Jack Sanderson

Registrations Against

• Lynne Davis - State Bar of WI-Civil Rights & Liberties Section

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 23, 2020 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (7) Representative Vorpagel; Representatives Schraa, Kerkman, Hutton, Horlacher, C. Taylor and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Schraa, seconded by Representative Kerkman that **Assembly Joint Resolution 77** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representative Vorpagel; Representatives Schraa, Kerkman, Hutton and Horlacher.

Noes: (2) Representatives C. Taylor and L. Myers.

ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 2

Ariana Beno Committee Clerk