# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Environment**

### **Assembly Bill 842**

Relating to: providing funding related to PFAS programs and positions, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Nygren and Swearingen; cosponsored by Senator Hansen.

January 31, 2020 Referred to Committee on Environment

February 06, 2020 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (11) Representative Kitchens; Representatives Oldenburg, Novak, Kurtz, James, Kuglitsch, Krug, Hebl, Anderson, Shankland and Neubauer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Tusler.

### Appearances For

- John Nygren 89th Assembly District
- Dave Hansen 30th Senate District
- Darci Foss Department of Natural Resources
- Beth Bier Department of Natural Resources
- Jennifer Giegerich Wisconsin Conservation Voters
- Carly Michiels Clean Wisconsin
- Andi Rich citizen
- George Meyer Wisconsin Wildlife Federation

## Appearances Against

- Scott Manley Wisconsin Manufacuters & Commerce
- Jason Culotta Midwest Food Products Association
- Steve Risotto American Chemistry Council
- Delanie Breuer Wisconsin Paper Council
- Kristy Neumann Packaging Corporation of America

#### Appearances for Information Only

- Andrew Hover-Booth Department of Health Services
- Roy Irving Department of Health Services

## Registrations For

- James Tinjum UW-Madison/City of Rhinelander
- Chris Sinicki 20th Assembly District

- Cindy Boyle citizen
- Chuck Boyle Jr. citizen
- Doug Oitzinger Former mayor of Marinette
- Laura Olah Citizens for Safe Water Around Badger
- Rob Swearingen 34th Assembly District
- Joe Ruth Wisconsin Towns Association
- Ray Cross UW System Admin

# Registrations Against

None.

## Registrations for Information Only

Jared Walker Smith - Municipal Environmental Group - Water Division

# February 18, 2020 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (12) Representative Kitchens; Representatives
Oldenburg, Tusler, Novak, Kurtz, James,
Kuglitsch, Krug, Hebl, Anderson, Shankland
and Neubauer.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Hebl, seconded by Representative Tusler that **Assembly Bill 842** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (12) Representative Kitchens; Representatives
Oldenburg, Tusler, Novak, Kurtz, James,
Kuglitsch, Krug, Hebl, Anderson, Shankland
and Neubauer.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Adam Tobias Committee Clerk