# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

### **Assembly Bill 712**

Relating to: making various changes to statutes administered by the Public Service Commission and requiring investor-owned energy utilities to fund a consumer advocate.

By Representative Kuglitsch; cosponsored by Senator LeMahieu, by request of Public Service Commission of Wisconsin.

January 08, 2020 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

January 14, 2020 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (16) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Rodriguez, Sortwell, Petersen, Tauchen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Vorpagel, B. Meyers, Crowley, Subeck, Stuck and Fields.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Mike Kuglitsch 84th Assembly District
- Sen. Devin LeMahieu 9th Senate District
- Chair Rebecca Valcq Public Service Commission of Wisconsin
- Matt Sweeney Public Service Commission of Wisconsin
- Zach Ramirez Public Service Commission of Wisconsin
- Bill Skewes Wisconsin Utilities Association
- Scott Smith Madison Gas & Electric
- Matt Spencer Madison Gas & Electric
- Joel Haubrich WEC Energy Group
- Chris LaRowe WEC Energy Group
- Elise Nelson Alliant Energy
- Matt Pagel Xcel Energy
- Tom Content Citizens Utility Board
- Corey Singletary Citizens Utility Board

## Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

# Registrations For

- Joseph Owen WPPI Energy
- James Buchen Wisconsin Utility Investors
- Scott Manley Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent **Business**
- Andrew Davis Milwaukee Metropolitan Association of Commerce
- Kristin Gilkes Customers First Coalition

## Registrations Against

None.

## Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### **Executive Session Held** January 28, 2020

Present: (16)Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Rodriguez, Sortwell, Petersen, Tauchen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Vorpagel, B. Meyers, Crowley, Subeck, Stuck and Fields.

Absent: (0)None. Excused: (0)None.

Moved by Representative Petersen, seconded by Representative Rodriguez that Assembly Bill 712 be recommended for passage.

> (16) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Ayes: Steffen, Rodriguez, Sortwell, Petersen, Tauchen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Vorpagel, B. Meyers, Crowley, Subeck, Stuck and Fields.

Noes: (0)None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Committee Clerk

Garrett Huffman