Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 426

Relating to: trespassing on the property of an energy provider and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Steffen, Fields, Born, Gundrum, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Rodriguez, Sinicki, Skowronski, Tusler and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, Bewley, Nass, Olsen and Schachtner.

September 12, 2019 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

September 26, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present: (12) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives
Rodriguez, Petersen, Tranel, Oldenburg,
Petryk, Neylon, Vorpagel, B. Meyers, Crowley,
Stuck and Fields.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Steffen, Sortwell, Tauchen and Subeck.

Appearances For

- Christina Nelson Rep. David Steffen
- Sen. Van Wanggaard 21st Senate District
- Rep. Jason Fields 11th Assembly District
- Bill Skewes Wisconsin Utilities Association
- Pam Fendt Laborers
- Rep. Christine Sinicki 20th Assembly District
- Terry Hayden Wisconsin Pipe Trades Association
- Kent Miller Wisconsin Laborers District Council
- Erin Roth American Petroleum Institute
- Bob Welch Local 139

Appearances Against

- Patricia Hammel National Lawyer Guild Madison
- Donald Roberts
- Mary Radue
- Susan Johnson
- Michael Treinen
- Ronni Monroe
- David Armiate
- Mary Jo Walters

- John Couzer
- Christine McDonough

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Corey Starr LiUNA
- Tom Hickey NCSRCC
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Nathan Franklin Dairyland Power Cooperative
- Steve Conway American Chemistry Council
- Mark Linsmeier
- Mike Schmitt
- Bernie Samz
- Dean Hackl
- Corey McGovern
- Andrew Davis MMAC
- Lane Ruhland WMC
- Debi Towns Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- Pat Goss Wisconsin Transportation Builders Association
- Todd Stuart Wisconsin Industrial Energy Group

Registrations Against

- Scott Zimmerman
- Brad Geyer
- Kenneth Sabroff
- Carolyn Gantner
- Tom Boswell
- Karen McKim
- Jeanette Marones
- Glory Adams

Registrations for Information Only

None.

October 02, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Rodriguez, Sortwell, Petersen,

Tauchen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, B. Meyers, Crowley, Stuck and Fields.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Vorpagel and Subeck.

Moved by Representative Tauchen, seconded by Representative Rodriguez that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Rodriguez, Sortwell, Petersen, Tauchen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, B. Meyers, Crowley, Stuck and Fields.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Tauchen that **Assembly Bill 426** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Rodriguez, Sortwell, Petersen, Tauchen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, B. Meyers, Crowley, Stuck and Fields.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Garrett Huffman

Committee Clerk