Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 849

Relating to: expanding the part-time open enrollment program.

By Representatives Thiesfeldt, Kulp, Fields, Ballweg, Dittrich, Felzkowski, Jagler, Knodl, Sanfelippo, Skowronski, Spiros, Steineke, Tusler, Hutton and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Kooyenga and Craig.

February 03, 2020 Referred to Committee on Education

February 06, 2020 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
		Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Quinn, Wittke,
		Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Pope, Considine,
		Hebl, Bowen, Vruwink and L. Myers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Tusler.

Appearances For

- Rep Jeremy Thiesfeldt
- Joseph Njuguna Milwaukee Community Journal
- Joseph Miotke
- Brandon Alvarez
- Sarah Useche
- CJ Szafir WILL
- Libby Sobic WILL
- Scott Frostman
- Billie Johnson

Appearances Against

• Dan Rossmiller - WI Association of School Boards

Appearances for Information Only

• Ola Lisowski - MacIver Institute

Registrations For

- Sen Alberta Darling
- Jim Bender School Choice WI
- Justin Moralez American Federation for Children
- Scott Jensen American Federation for Children
- Bob Welch KIZ, Inc
- Andrew Davis MMAC

Registrations Against

• John Forester - School Administrators Alliance

Registrations for Information Only

• Grant Huber - DPI

February 12, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
		Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Quinn, Wittke,
		Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Pope, Considine,
		Hebl, Bowen, Vruwink and L. Myers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Tusler.

Moved by Representative Jagler, seconded by Representative Quinn that **Assembly Bill 849** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(9)	Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
		Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Quinn, Wittke,
		Ramthun, Wichgers and Mursau.
Neeg	$(\boldsymbol{\epsilon})$	Depresentatives Dana Considing Hahl

Noes: (6) Representatives Pope, Considine, Hebl, Bowen, Vruwink and L. Myers.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 6

Katie Scott Committee Clerk