Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 232

Relating to: teacher preparatory programs and granting rule-making authority. By Representatives L. Myers, Rohrkaste, Stubbs, Ohnstad, Crowley and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators Kooyenga, L. Taylor, Carpenter, Jacque, Feyen and Smith.

May 22, 2019 Referred to Committee on Education

July 11, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Wittke, Ramthun,
Wichgers, Mursau, Pope, Hebl, Bowen,
Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Quinn, Tusler and Considine.

Appearances For

- Lakeshia Myers
- Sharon Schmeling WI Council of Religious and Independent Schools
- Dee Pettack DPI
- Beth Giles DPI
- Rolf Wegenke WAICU
- Ronald Martin WEAC
- Chris Thiel MPS
- Nicole Johnson
- Angela Harris Black Educators Caucus MKE
- Crystal Ealy Paraprofessionals
- Ingrid Walker-Henry MTEA

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Eddie Rutledge
- Crystal Fredrick-Stanley MMABSE
- Dan Rossmiller Wis. Assn. of School Boards
- John Forestor SAA

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

Janine Edwards

September 19, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Quinn, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Pope, Considine, Hebl,

Bowen, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Rodriguez and Tusler.

Moved by Representative Hebl, seconded by Representative Pope that **Assembly Bill 232** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Quinn, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Pope, Considine, Hebl, Bowen, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Katie Scott Committee Clerk