# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Education**

#### **Assembly Bill 195**

Relating to: a license to teach based on reciprocity and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Tranel, L. Myers, Rohrkaste, Novak, Kurtz, Kulp, Tittl, Edming, Wittke, Zimmerman, Felzkowski, Dittrich, Gundrum, Knodl, Skowronski, Spiros and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Kooyenga, Testin, Cowles, Darling and Nass.

April 29, 2019 Referred to Committee on Education

May 30, 2019 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Jagler, Wittke, Rodriguez, Mursau,
Quinn, Ramthun, Wichgers, Pope, Bowen,
Considine, Hebl and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Tusler and L. Myers.

#### Appearances For

- Travis Tranel 49th Assembly District
- Jamie Nutter
- Connie Valenza
- Lena Taylor 4th Senate District
- Molly Tranel
- David Neis
- Ron Saari Potosi School District

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

- John Forestor School Administrators Alliance
- Howard Marklein 17th Senate District

#### Registrations Against

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

- Dee Pettack DPI
- Janine Edwards

### June 13, 2019 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Jagler, Wittke, Rodriguez, Mursau,
Ramthun, Wichgers, Pope, Bowen, Considine,

Hebl, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Tusler and Quinn.

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Ramthun that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Wittke, Rodriguez, Mursau, Ramthun, Wichgers, Pope, Bowen, Considine, Hebl, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Ramthun, seconded by Representative Myers that **Assembly Bill 195** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Wittke, Rodriguez, Mursau, Ramthun, Wichgers, Bowen, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Noes: (2) Representatives Pope and Hebl.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 2

Katie Scott

Committee Clerk