Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 807

Relating to: mandatory minimum sentence for three or more convictions for retail theft and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Brandtjen, Skowronski, Sanfelippo, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Gundrum, Horlacher, Jagler, James, Knodl, Kuglitsch, Ott, Ramthun, Sortwell, Tittl and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Jacque, Marklein, Nass and Craig.

January 27, 2020	Referred to Committee	on Criminal	Justice and	Public	Safety
------------------	-----------------------	-------------	-------------	--------	--------

January 30, 2020 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Spiros; Representatives	
		Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow,	
		Novak, Schraa, Krug, Spreitzer, Emerson,	
		Stubbs and McGuire.	
Absent:	(0)	None.	
Excused:	(1)	Representative Crowley.	

Appearances For

- Senator David Craig
- Police Chief Pat Mitchell West Allis Police Department
- Jim Hyland Roundy's
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association

Appearances Against

- Jerome Dillard EXPO
- Adam Plotkin State Public Defender
- Jon Padgham State Public Defender
- Savang Chhorum
- Bianca Gomez
- Ramiah Whiteside EXPO
- Representative Evan Goyke
- Emilio DeTorre ACLU
- David Dodderidge

Appearances for Information Only

• Jordan Primaco - City of Milwaukee

Registrations For

• Senator Duey Stroebel

- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- Michelle Kussow Wisconsin Grocers Association

Registrations Against

- Peggy West EXPO
- Kathryn Mulligan
- Gil Halsted Moses
- Andrea Kaminski League of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- Marcie Rainbolt Wisconsin Counties Association
- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Public Health Association
- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards
- Matt Phillips Alliance of Wisconsin Retailers
- Jordan Lamb Association of State Prosecutors
- Edward Kuharski
- Kay Frazier
- Joan Duerst
- Will Perry ACLU, Wisconsin Muslim Civic Alliance
- Ann Lacy Moses, Wisdom
- Mahnker Dahnweih
- Danita Brown
- James Morgan
- Sheesenehooya Moua
- Martina Rippon
- Hope Yang
- Mary Wichita
- Barbara Chusid
- Jill McDonald
- Courney Saxler
- Andrea Dearlove
- Susan Davidson
- Laura Berger
- Sharm Lezberg
- Mary Musholt
- Cheryl Robinson
- Colleen O'Hara Wisdom
- Joan Kemble Moses
- Harriet Lavin CUSH
- Stephen Mayer
- Patrick O'Laughlin
- Barbara Benson
- Daniel Tomaro
- Andrew Trusty

- Ellen Magee Unity Church Social Justice Ministry
- Ken Ring
- Representative David Bowen
- Karolyn Beebe
- Fawn Bilgere

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 26, 2020 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Amanda Graham Committee Clerk