Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 817

Relating to: bail for a criminal defendant who is charged with bail jumping. By Representatives Ott, Horlacher, Sanfelippo, Kerkman, Duchow, Wichgers, Dittrich, Knodl, Brandtjen and Plumer; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Nass and Jacque.

January 28, 2020 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 30, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives

Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Spreitzer, Emerson,

Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Crowley.

Appearances For

- Representative Jim Ott
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association

Appearances Against

- Representative Evan Goyke
- Emilio DeTorre ACLU
- David Dodderidge

Appearances for Information Only

• Jordan Primaco - City of Milwaukee

Registrations For

• Senator Duey Stroebel

Registrations Against

- Marcie Rainbolt Wisconsin Counties Association
- Edward Kuharski
- Kay Frazier
- Joan Duerst
- Will Perry ACLU, Wisconsin Muslim Civic Alliance
- Ann Lacy Moses, Wisdom
- Mahnker Dahnweih
- Danita Brown

- James Morgan
- Sheesenehooya Moua
- Martina Rippon
- Hope Yang
- Mary Wichita
- Barbara Chusid
- Jill McDonald
- Courney Saxler
- Andrea Dearlove
- Susan Davidson
- Laura Berger
- Sharm Lezberg
- Mary Musholt
- Cheryl Robinson
- Colleen O'Hara Wisdom
- Joan Kemble Moses
- Harriet Lavin CUSH
- Stephen Mayer
- Patrick O'Laughlin
- Barbara Benson
- Daniel Tomaro
- Andrew Trusty
- Ellen Magee Unity Church Social Justice Ministry
- Ken Ring
- Representative David Bowen
- Karolyn Beebe
- Fawn Bilgere

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 06, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives

Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer,

Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Steffen that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa and Krug.

Noes: (5) Representatives Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Crowley, seconded by Representative Spreitzer that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representatives Sortwell, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (8) Representative Spiros; Representatives Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa and Krug.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION, Ayes 6, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Steffen, seconded by Representative Ott that **Assembly Bill 817** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa and Krug.

Noes: (5) Representatives Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Erin Clark

Committee Clerk