Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 809

Relating to: earned release from parole or extended supervision and discharge from probation.

By Representatives Hutton, Sanfelippo, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Gundrum, Horlacher, Jagler, James, Katsma, Knodl, Kuglitsch, Ott, Plumer, Ramthun, Tittl and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Craig, Jacque, Marklein, Nass and Stroebel.

January 27, 2020 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 30, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Crowley.

Appearances For

- Senator David Craig
- Representative Rob Hutton
- Police Chief Pat Mitchell West Allis Police Department
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association

Appearances Against

- Gil Halsted Moses
- Ramiah Whiteside EXPO
- Jerome Dillard EXPO
- Representative Evan Goyke
- Emilio DeTorre ACLU
- David Dodderidge

Appearances for Information Only

Jordan Primaco - City of Milwaukee

Registrations For

 Caty McDermott - Badger State Sheriffs, Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs

Registrations Against

• Adam Plotkin - State Public Defender

- Jon Padgham State Public Defender
- Kathryn Mulligan
- Andrea Kaminski League of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Public Health Association
- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards
- Peggy West
- Edward Kuharski
- Kay Frazier
- Joan Duerst
- Will Perry ACLU, Wisconsin Muslim Civic Alliance
- Ann Lacy Moses, Wisdom
- Mahnker Dahnweih
- Danita Brown
- James Morgan
- Sheesenehooya Moua
- Martina Rippon
- Hope Yang
- Mary Wichita
- Barbara Chusid
- Jill McDonald
- Courney Saxler
- Andrea Dearlove
- Susan Davidson
- Laura Berger
- Sharm Lezberg
- Mary Musholt
- Cheryl Robinson
- Colleen O'Hara Wisdom
- Joan Kemble Moses
- Harriet Lavin CUSH
- Stephen Mayer
- Patrick O'Laughlin
- Barbara Benson
- Daniel Tomaro
- Andrew Trusty
- Ellen Magee Unity Church Social Justice Ministry
- Ken Ring
- Representative David Bowen
- Karolyn Beebe
- Fawn Bilgere
- Paulina de Haan Department of Corrections

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 06, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer,

Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa and Krug.

Noes: (5) Representatives Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 809** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak and Schraa.

Noes: (6) Representatives Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 6

Erin Clark

Committee Clerk