Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 808

Relating to: prosecuting a violent felon for the crime of illegal possession of a firearm.

By Representatives Sanfelippo, Hutton, Allen, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Gundrum, Horlacher, Jagler, James, Katsma, Knodl, Kuglitsch, Ott, Plumer, Ramthun, Tittl and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Kapenga, Craig, Jacque, Marklein, Nass and Stroebel.

January 27, 2020 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 30, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow,
Novak, Schraa, Krug, Spreitzer, Emerson,
Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Crowley.

Appearances For

- Senator David Craig
- Representative Joe Sanfelippo
- Police Chief Pat Mitchell West Allis Police Department
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association

Appearances Against

- Ramiah Whiteside EXPO
- Representative Evan Goyke
- Emilio DeTorre ACLU
- David Dodderidge

Appearances for Information Only

• Jordan Primaco - City of Milwaukee

Registrations For

- Senator Chris Kapenga
- Caty McDermott Badger State Sherifs' Association, Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs

Registrations Against

Peggy West - EXPO

- Adam Plotkin State Public Defender
- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Public Health Association
- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards
- Jordan Lamb Association of State Prosecutors
- Nancy Rottier Director of State Courts
- Edward Kuharski
- Kay Frazier
- Joan Duerst
- Will Perry ACLU, Wisconsin Muslim Civic Alliance
- Ann Lacy Moses, Wisdom
- Mahnker Dahnweih
- Danita Brown
- James Morgan
- Sheesenehooya Moua
- Martina Rippon
- Hope Yang
- Mary Wichita
- Barbara Chusid
- Jill McDonald
- Courney Saxler
- Andrea Dearlove
- Susan Davidson
- Laura Berger
- Sharm Lezberg
- Mary Musholt
- Cheryl Robinson
- Colleen O'Hara Wisdom
- Joan Kemble Moses
- Harriet Lavin CUSH
- Stephen Mayer
- Patrick O'Laughlin
- Barbara Benson
- Daniel Tomaro
- Andrew Trusty
- Ellen Magee Unity Church Social Justice Ministry
- Ken Ring
- Representative David Bowen
- Karolyn Beebe
- Fawn Bilgere

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 06, 2020 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow,
Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer,
Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Ott that **Assembly Bill 808** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa and Krug.

Noes: (5) Representatives Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Erin Clark
Committee Clerk