Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 746

Relating to: traffic violations when emergency or roadside response vehicles are present and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Shankland, Loudenbeck, Spiros, Anderson, Bowen, Considine, Dittrich, Emerson, Fields, Hebl, James, Kitchens, Kulp, Milroy, Mursau, Novak, Plumer, Sinicki, Subeck, Tusler and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Carpenter, Bewley, Marklein, Olsen, Schachtner and Larson.

January 16, 2020 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 23, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow,
Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer,
Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Katrina Shankland
- Brian Swan Amherst Fire District
- Thomas Brey Amherst Fire District
- Elizabeth Bourdeau Endeavor-Moundville Fire Department
- Michael Bourdeau Endeavor-Moundville Fire Department
- Lieutenant Todd Horn Columbia County Sheriff's Department
- Jim Johnson Town of Westfield Fire Department
- Darren Jorgenson Delton Fire Department
- Amanda Sabol Delton Fire Department, Baraboo Police Department
- Dan Johnson Wisconsin Towing Association
- Tim Bantes Wisconsin State Fire Chief's Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Willow Macy Amherst Fire District
- Representative Amy Loudenbeck
- Garrett Watson Delton Fire Department
- Cindy Swan Amherst Fire District
- Shawna Bongard Delton Fire Department
- Victor Voss Amherst Fire District
- Kenneth Voss Plover Fire Department
- Misha Lee Construction Business Group
- Marc Cohen Wisconsin EMS Association
- Joe Strohl Professional Fire Fighters
- David Bloom Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs
- Lexie Plaski Amherst Fire District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 06, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Spreitzer that **Assembly Bill 746** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Erin Clark

Committee Clerk