Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 569

Relating to: claims for compensation for post-traumatic stress disorder by police officers and fire fighters under the worker's compensation law.

By Representatives Horlacher, Emerson, Allen, Anderson, Ballweg, Brandtjen, Brostoff, Considine, Dittrich, Doyle, Edming, Kerkman, Krug, Kulp, Mursau, Novak, Ott, Petryk, Pope, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Sortwell, Spiros, Spreitzer, Stubbs, Stuck, Subeck, C. Taylor and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Bewley, Wanggaard, Erpenbach, Johnson, Marklein, Nass, Schachtner and Wirch.

October 25, 2019 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 09, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives

Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer,

Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Cody Horlacher
- Senator Andre Jacque
- Ron Pileggi Wisconsin Chiefs of Police
- Bernie Coughlin Wisconsin Chiefs of Police
- Jim Palmer Wisconsin Professional Police Association
- Greg Leck Wisconsin Chiefs of Police
- Ryan Vossekuil Wisconsin Chiefs of Police
- Dave Mahoney Badger State Sheriffs, Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs
- Mahlon Mitchell Professional Fire Fighters
- Devon Anders Professional Fire Fighters
- Stephen Radclaw Professional Fire Fighters
- Brent Jones Professional Fire Fighters
- Nick Zimpel Professional Fire Fighters
- James Small Palmyra Public Safety Department
- Forbes McIntosh WI EMS Association
- Carrie Meier
- Joshua Kowalke Reedsburg Ambulance
- Ben Grosse

- Ashley Carothers
- Eric Lang Deer Grove EMS

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Curt Witynski League of Municipalities
- Richard Ceman Cities & Villages Mutual Insurance Company
- Brenda Wood City of Milwaukee
- Nilsa Rosado-Jurkewicz City of Milwaukee

Registrations For

- Senator Van Wanggaard
- Ken Gilliam La Crosse Fire Department
- David Litton Green Bay Metro Fire Department
- Cody Doucette Cambria Fire Department
- Ryan Hart Cambria Fire Department
- Joseph Pfaff Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs
- Benedict Felckowski Green Bay Metro Fire Department
- Christopher Garrison Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs
- Ryan Gibbons
- Cody Krusick Green Bay Metro Fire Department
- Jordan Waack Green Bay Metro Fire Department
- David Lucier Green Bay Metro Fire Department
- Jon Frederickson
- Jim Case Wauwatosa Fire Department
- Kevin Fosso
- Mike Degarmo Professional Fire Fighters
- Paul Guilbert Professoinal Fire Fighters
- Attorney General Josh Kaul Wisconsin Department of Justice
- Steve Lyons Wisconsin Chiefs of Police
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Chiefs of Police
- Mike Degaraw Professional Fire Fighters
- Art Price Madison Fire Department

Registrations Against

• Ben Turk

Registrations for Information Only

None.

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Crowley, seconded by Representative Emerson that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa and Krug.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION, Ayes 5, Noes 9

Moved by Representative Spreitzer, seconded by Representative McGuire that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa and Krug.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION, Ayes 5, Noes 9

Moved by Representative Steffen, seconded by Representative Ott that **Assembly Bill 569** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Erin Clark
Committee Clerk