Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 482

Relating to: financial exploitation of vulnerable adults with securities accounts, violations of the Wisconsin Uniform Securities Law, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Macco, Wittke, Bowen, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Edming, Gundrum, Horlacher, James, Katsma, Knodl, Krug, Kulp, Magnafici, Mursau, Novak, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Quinn, Ramthun, Rohrkaste, Schraa, Steffen, Summerfield, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel and Felzkowski; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Carpenter, Bernier, Cowles, Olsen, Petrowski and Wirch.

September 26, 2019 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

November 14, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(10)	Representative Spiros; Representatives
		Sortwell, Ott, Duchow, Novak, Crowley,
		Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(4)	Representatives Steffen, Horlacher, Schraa and Krug.

Appearances For

- Senator Patrick Testin
- Helen Marks Dicks AARP
- April Devalkeneare IAFCI, Waukesha County District Attorney's Office

Appearances Against

 Iris Christenson - State Bar of Wisconsin - Elder Law Section

Appearances for Information Only

• Janet Zamder - Greater Wisconsin Agency on Aging Resources

Registrations For

- Jon Turke Wisconsin Bakers Association
- Bill McClenahan NAIFA Wisconsin
- Jim Hrncirik AARP
- David Dorn AARP
- Judith Craig AARP

- Margaret Hrncirik AARP
- Nancy Koch AARP
- Joe Kallas AARP
- Steve Powell AARP
- Patrick Meier AARP
- Patsy Evans AARP
- Carol Greene AARP
- Susan Fadness AARP
- Carol Martell AARP
- Stuart Martell AARP
- Richard Crary AARP
- Representative John Macco

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 09, 2020 Executive Session Held

- Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire. Absent: (0) None.
- Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Krug, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Bill 482** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.
- Noes: (1) Representative Sortwell.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 1

Erin Clark Committee Clerk