Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 152

Relating to: sexual contact with an animal and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Wichgers, Brandtjen, Edming, James, Loudenbeck, Murphy, L. Myers, Skowronski, Subeck and C. Taylor; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Risser, Cowles and Marklein.

April 05, 2019 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

October 17, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives

Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson,

Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Krug.

Appearances For

- Senator Andre Jacque
- Representative Chuck Wichgers
- Megan Nicholson Humane Society of the United States
- Eilene Ribbons WI Federated Humane Societies

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jolene Plautz WI State Horse Council
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Veterinary Medical Association
- Bonnie Moore
- Brenda Vesely
- Jenny Edwards WI Federated Humane Society

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

October 31, 2019 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives

Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson,

Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Krug.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Ott that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative McGuire that **Assembly Bill 152** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow,
Novak, Schraa, Crowley, Spreitzer,
Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Erin Clark
Committee Clerk