### **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

#### **Assembly Bill 308**

Relating to: pepper spray and CS gel substances.

By Representatives Horlacher, Fields, Ballweg, Bowen, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Jagler, Kulp, Macco, Ramthun, Skowronski, Spiros, Spreitzer, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Tusler, Wichgers and Born; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, Ringhand, Carpenter, Cowles, Nass, Petrowski and Tiffany.

June 20, 2019 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

September 18, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present: (11) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug,

Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Steffen, Horlacher and

Crowley.

#### Appearances For

- Anna Schwarz Representative Cody Horlacher's Office
- Joe Anderson Reflex Protect
- Jay Busse Reflex Protect

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### Registrations For

Senator Van Wanggaard

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

None.

### October 17, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow,

Novak, Schraa, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent:

(0) None.

Excused:

(1) Representative Krug.

Moved by Representative Crowley, seconded by Representative McGuire that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:

(6) Representatives Novak, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes:

(7) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow and Schraa.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Steffen that **Assembly Bill 308** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:

(11) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Crowley, Spreitzer and Stubbs.

Noes:

(2) Representatives Emerson and McGuire.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 2

Erin Clark

Committee Clerk