Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 198

Relating to: battery or threat to a probation, extended supervision, and parole agent; a community supervision agent; or an aftercare agent or a family member of the agent and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Schraa, Gruszynski, Edming, James, Mursau, Pope, Sinicki and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Hansen, Jacque and Smith.

May 08, 2019 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

September 18, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(11)	Representative Spiros; Representatives
		Sortwell, Ott, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug,
		Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(3)	Representatives Steffen, Horlacher and
		Crowley.

Appearances For

- Representative Michael Schraa
- Lance Wierzma Wisconsin Department of Corrections
- Jason Luebke
- Teresa Mollet
- Jennifer Miller
- Marcew Garcia
- Kim Best
- Amanda Holz

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Forbes McIntosh Oneida Nation
- Ben Holz
- Senator Dave Hansen
- Joe Strohl Menominee Tribe
- Angela Fischer
- Laura Beutel

Registrations Against

• None.

<u>Registrations for Information Only</u>
None.

October 17, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Spiros; Representatives
		Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow,
		Novak, Schraa, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson,
		Stubbs and McGuire.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Krug.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Schraa that Assembly Amendment 1 be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.
- Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 198** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Erin Clark Committee Clerk