Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 262

Relating to: liability of owners of vehicles involved in certain speed limit and failure to yield right-of-way violations, driver education instruction, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Plumer, Doyle, Krug, Kulp, Mursau, Quinn, Spiros, Skowronski, Stuck, James, Vruwink, Duchow, Tusler, Shankland, Edming, Brandtjen, Ott and VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Ringhand, Feyen, Olsen, Marklein, Carpenter, Bernier and Cowles.

June 07, 2019 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

August 22, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(11)	Representative Spiros; Representatives
		Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Duchow, Novak,
		Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and
		McGuire.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(3)	Representatives Horlacher, Schraa and Krug.

Appearances For

- Representative Jon Plumer
- Sarah Spaeth Waukesha County
- Jon Johnson Eau Claire County
- Craig Hardy Iowa County
- Don Nichols Columbia County
- Roland Hawk Wood County
- Casey Beyersdorf Waupaca County
- Brian Kelley Chippewa County
- Michael Bourdeau Endeavor Moundville Fire Department

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Senator Patrick Testin

- Bob Welch Construction Business Group, Operating Engineers Local 139, Wisconsin Society Land Surveyors
- Dan Bahr Wisconsin Counties Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 18, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present:(11)Representative Spiros; Representatives
Sortwell, Ott, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug,
Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.Absent:(0)None.Excused:(3)Representatives Steffen, Horlacher and
Crowley.

Moved by Representative Krug, seconded by Representative Ott that **Assembly Bill 262** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (10) Representative Spiros; Representatives Ott, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.
- Noes: (1) Representative Sortwell.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 1

Erin Clark Committee Clerk