Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 16

Relating to: committing a fifth or sixth offense related to operating a vehicle while intoxicated and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Ott, Horlacher, Novak, Plumer, Quinn, Sortwell, Spiros, C. Taylor, Wichgers and Hutton; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Carpenter, Bernier, Craig, Kooyenga, Marklein and Nass.

February 08, 2019 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

April 04, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives

Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson,

Cabrera and Stubbs.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Duchow.

Appearances For

- Representative Jim Ott
- Senator Alberta Darling
- District Attorney Adam Gerol Okaukee County
- Paul Jenkins
- Judy Jenkins
- Connie Ihm
- Paula Patoka
- Sheila Lockwood
- Serena Ballman
- Marla Hall
- Brian Dunleavy
- Laura Rosel-Hibbler
- Diane Urban

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• District Attorney Ismeal Ozanne - Dane County

Registrations For

• Senator Tim Carpenter

- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Chiefs of Police
- Filip Mastalerz
- Jennifer Hirschmann
- Morgan Lockwood
- Christine Dunleavy
- Gracie Mae Johnson
- Donna Johnson
- Caralee Butcine

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 18, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (11) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Steffen, Horlacher and Crowley.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Duchow, Schraa, Krug, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Emerson, seconded by Representative McGuire that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Schraa, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (6) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Duchow, Novak and Krug.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 16** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (6) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Duchow, Novak and Krug.

Noes: (5) Representatives Schraa, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 5

Erin Clark
Committee Clerk