# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

### Assembly Bill 188

Relating to: facilities for holding juveniles in secure custody.

By Representatives Schraa, Goyke, Bowen, Billings, Born, Brooks, Considine, Crowley, Edming, Emerson, Felzkowski, Hesselbein, James, Kitchens, Knodl, Kolste, Krug, Kulp, Milroy, Mursau, L. Myers, Novak, Ohnstad, Pope, Ramthun, Rohrkaste, Sargent, Sinicki, Spiros, Steffen, Stubbs, Subeck, Tauchen, Vining and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, L. Taylor, Darling, Feyen, Jacque, Johnson and Tiffany.

April 25, 2019 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

June 12, 2019 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (10) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Schraa, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None

Excused: (4) Representatives Horlacher, Duchow, Novak

and Krug.

#### Appearances For

• None.

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

## Registrations For

• None.

# Registrations Against

None.

# Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## June 13, 2019 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow,

Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0

(0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Novak.

Moved by Representative Crowley, seconded by Representative Schraa that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow,
Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson,
Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 188** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Erin Clark Committee Clerk