## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

#### **Assembly Bill 28**

Relating to: crime victim impact statements.

By Representatives Horlacher, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Hutton, Kulp, Ramthun, Skowronski, Steffen, Tittl, Tusler, Zimmerman and Brooks; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Olsen, Wanggaard and Darling.

February 22, 2019 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

March 07, 2019 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (11) Representative Spiros; Representatives

Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Novak, Schraa, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson and

Cabrera.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Duchow and Krug.

### Appearances For

- Senator Andre Jacque
- Representative Cody Horlacher
- Amy Brown Dane County Victim Witness Unit
- Debra Davidoski Milwaukee County DA's Office
- Jennifer Dunn Wisconsin Victim Witness Professionals

#### Appearances Against

None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### Registrations For

- Kristen Sova Rock County
- Andrea Ehret Rock County
- Heather Kortn Rock County
- Carol Jalesic
- Robin Leonard
- Jessica Bryan
- Chris Andraschko
- David Williams Wisconsin Victim Witness Professionals
- Alice O'Connor WI Chiefs of Police Association

### Registrations Against

None.

### Registrations for Information Only

None.

March 28, 2019 **Executive Session Held** 

Present: (12) Representative Spiros; Representatives

Sortwell, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Cabrera

and Stubbs.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Ott and Krug.

Moved by Representative Novak, seconded by Representative Sortwell that **Assembly Bill 28** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (7) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow,

Novak and Schraa.

Noes: (5) Representatives Crowley, Spreitzer,

Emerson, Cabrera and Stubbs.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 5

Erin Clark
Committee Clerk