Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Joint Resolution 1

Relating to: the rights of crime victims (second consideration).

By Representatives Novak, Crowley, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Felzkowski, Fields, Gundrum, Horlacher, Jagler, James, Kitchens, Knodl, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Macco, Murphy, Mursau, Oldenburg, Ott, Petryk, Plumer, Ramthun, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Sinicki, Snyder, Sortwell, Skowronski, Spiros, Steffen, Tittl, Tranel, Thiesfeldt, Tusler, Vorpagel, Vruwink and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, Carpenter, Bernier, Cowles, Darling, Feyen, Hansen, Jacque, Marklein, Nass, Olsen, Petrowski and Testin.

January 08, 2019 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 09, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (11) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Novak,

Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer and Emerson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Cabrera.

Appearances For

- Senator Van Wanggaard
- Representative Todd Novak
- Teri Jendusa Nicolai Marsy's Law
- Sheriff Jim Johnson Badger State Sheriffs' Association
- Sheriff Jim Johnson Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Veronica Figueroa
- Nancy Hahnisch
- Margaret Krumpos
- Ariel Ludlum
- Shawn Lauda Milwaukee Police Association
- Christina Traub
- Dan Peterson Marsy's Law
- Margaret Garvin National Crime Victim Law Institute
- Cheryl Vanderloop

Appearances Against

- Adam Plotkin State Public Defender
- Matt Rothschild Wisconsin Democracy Campaign

 Michele Tjader - Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Attorneys

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Luke Martz
- Steve Derene
- Keaira Stine
- Alice O'Connor WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Senator Tim Carpenter
- Andrew Wanger Milwaukee Police Association
- Abbie Kenyon
- Kathleen Thalacker
- Matthew Johnson
- Kathryn Thalacker
- Marigrace Carney Marsy's Law
- Amy Ressel
- Jessica Elnar
- Rachel Bauer
- Erin Proctor
- Jodi Block Children's Hospital of WI
- Jordan Lamb Association of State Prosecutors
- Glen Johnes Wisconsin Troopers' Association
- Forbes McIntosh WI Nurses Association
- Ian Henderson WCASA
- Jim Palmer Wisconsin Professional Police Association
- Ethan Hollenberger Washington County

Registrations Against

Molly Collins - ACLU WI

Registrations for Information Only

Chase Terrier - End Domestic Abuse

January 16, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson and Cabrera.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Novak, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Joint Resolution 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley and Emerson.

Noes: (2) Representatives Spreitzer and Cabrera.

ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 2

Erin Clark Committee Clerk