Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Community Development

Assembly Bill 66

Relating to: creative economy development initiative grants and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Kitchens, Petryk, Allen, Billings, Duchow, Krug, Kulp, Ohnstad, Rohrkaste, Shankland, Snyder, C. Taylor and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Feyen, Bewley, Petrowski and Tiffany.

March 07, 2019 Referred to Committee on Community Development

March 12, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Allen; Representatives

Brandtjen, Snyder, Duchow, Sanfelippo,

Ramthun, Fields, Subeck and Bowen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Joel Kitchens 1st Assembly District
- Senator Dan Feyen 1st Senate District
- Melinda Childs
- Kathy Foley Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum
- Alan Kopischke
- Tom Targos
- Greg Wright CREATE Portage County
- Mayor Mike Palm City of Baraboo
- Representative Katrina Shankland 71st Assembly District

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Representative Tod Ohnstad 65th Assembly District
- Representative Warren Petryk 93rd Assembly District
- Jay Salinas Wormfarm Institute
- Marcia Yapp
- Meridith Ekberg

- John Brenninger WIA, Inc.
- Vivian Olmstead
- Kevin Ricks
- Kevin Cullen Neville Public Museum of Brown County
- Alex Zacarias
- Barry Wightman
- Caitlin Schmidt Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra
- C. Ann Dietrich Center for Visual Arts Wisconsin
- Kris Schumacher Dodge County Center for the Arts
- Emily Worzalla Rhapsody Arts Center
- Ruth Metz
- William Babcock
- Keith Hampton Rhapsody Arts Center Inc.
- John Sterr
- Andrea Hubbert ARTS Wisconsin
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- Caty McDermott Wisconsin Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus
- Mary Brodzeller Schauer Arts Center
- Jean Greenwood Arts Wisconsin
- Gabrielle Javier-Cerulh
- Kayla Salter
- Heidi Salter
- Elizabeth Cichowski Brass Bell Music
- Tristann Riech
- Jim O'Connell
- Aoam Bentley
- Todd Schmidt
- Judy Spring Baraboo Public Arts Association
- Mary Huffaker
- Megan Wodson
- Joanne Meierhofer Chequamegon Bay Arts Council
- Rhiannon Gurley
- Julie Peterman
- Katherine Georgeson Orchestra Design Studio
- Kathi Kilgore WI Hotel & Lodging Association
- Alex Schultz Sculpture Valley
- Maly Williams
- Kelly Toltzien
- Robert Walker Center for Visual Arts
- Ron Oshima Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra
- Program Director Carole Spelic Shake Rag Alley Center for the Arts

- Vice President Lorraine Reynolds Shake Rag Alley Center for the Arts
- Executive Director Sara Flesch Shake Rag Alley Center for the Arts
- Kristina Coopman
- Managing Director Carrie Van Hallgren American Players Theatre
- Cathy Lybarger Wisconsin Arts Board
- Susan Baez Wisconsin Arts Board
- Kelley Schmidt
- Maria DeBroux
- Beth Racette Overture Center for the Arts
- Laura Schley Green Bay Public Arts Commission
- Jared Duymovic Overture Center for the Arts
- Amy Frank 3rd Avenue Playhouse
- Spencer Schumann
- Emily Goretski
- Tara Owsadnile
- Ryan Bagnell
- Madeline Mueller
- Emily Magyar
- Dave Wedemayer
- Nicole Riggs
- Jessica Sieck
- Veronica Neske
- Amber Hederer
- Peter Kocanier
- Sherry Shafer
- Kaylee Theel
- Courtney Krell
- Michaela Kraft
- Nicole Vike
- Nicole Semrow
- Carolyn Nelson-Kavajelz Sterling Silver Studio
- Mara Mullen-Reinhardt
- Douglas Henderson
- Susan Gingrasso Wisconsin Dance Council
- Kelly Price Center for the Visual Arts
- Bridget Fraser Wisconsin Youth Symphony Orchestra
- Michael Ross
- Eric Knight Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions
- Katie Miller
- Kim Brooks

- Ashley McLaughlin
- Anne Katz ARTS Wisconsin
- Michele Traband
- Sean Sobecki
- Amy Mueller American Players Theatre
- Carol Jefferson
- Madeline Marsh
- Josh Fields
- Haylie Place
- Michaela Wyngaard
- Evelynn Ehrlich
- Taylor Tess
- Breton Spiller
- Rebecca Schwerman
- Stuart Benjamin
- Alissa Bethke
- Tom Sielaff
- Tya Kottler
- Marjorie Stoneman
- Kenzie Trezise
- Diana Bolander
- Delaney Trezise
- Beth Lemke Neville Public Museum
- Executive Director Kasha Huntowski Neville Public Museum
- David Burch
- Jeff McSweeney Mabel Tainter Center for the Arts
- Curtis Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Christina Martin-Wright VSA Wisconsin
- Margaret Rozga
- Dustin Skenadore
- Jacobo Lovo Latino Arts Inc.
- Jason Jon Anderson Pablo Center at the Confluence
- Stan Krahenbuhl Driver Opera House

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

Present: (9) Representative Allen; Representatives Brandtjen, Snyder, Duchow, Sanfelippo, Ramthun, Fields, Subeck and Bowen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Bowen, seconded by Representative Snyder that **Assembly Bill 66** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (7) Representative Allen; Representatives Snyder, Duchow, Ramthun, Fields, Subeck and Bowen.

Noes: (2) Representatives Brandtjen and Sanfelippo.

Committee Clerk

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 2

Dan Hubert