Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 684

Relating to: veteran-related tuition grants for certain veterans and dependents enrolled in private nonprofit institutions of higher education and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Kurtz, Dittrich, Horlacher, Krug, Kulp, Murphy, Mursau, Tusler, VanderMeer, Zimmerman and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Kooyenga, Tiffany, Roth, Bewley, Feyen, Olsen and Wanggaard.

December 20, 2019 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

January 23, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (16) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Duchow, Ballweg, Wittke,
Summerfield, Stafsholt, Krug, Quinn, Petryk,
Shankland, Billings, Stubbs, Emerson,
Hesselbein and Anderson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Tony Kurtz author
- Sen. Alberta Darling author
- Dr. Rolf Wegenke WI Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
- Kari Metts Concordia University
- Keith Casey Concordia University
- KaDee Knapper
- Matthew Krueger WI Land and Water
- Keith Purnell Viterbo
- Jarvis Racine Herzing University
- Sue Bialk Lakeland University
- Lena Scheibengraber Milwaukee School of Engineering
- Ricky Gronwall Milwaukee School of Engineering
- Michael Kielpkowski Milwaukee School of Engineering

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Mary Czech-Mrochinski Marquette University
- James Quattromani County Veterans Service Officer Association of WI
- Gretchen Jameson Concordia University
- Christy Call Concordia University
- Bob Welch WI Corn Growers Association
- Assistant Deputy Secretary Kathy Still WI Dept of Veterans Affairs

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 06, 2020 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (16) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Duchow, Ballweg, Wittke,
Summerfield, Stafsholt, Krug, Quinn, Petryk,
Shankland, Billings, Stubbs, Emerson,
Hesselbein and Anderson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Krug, seconded by Representative Wittke that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representative Murphy; Representatives Tranel, Duchow, Ballweg, Wittke, Summerfield, Stafsholt, Krug, Quinn, Petryk, Shankland, Stubbs, Emerson, Hesselbein and Anderson.

Noes: (1) Representative Billings.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Quinn, seconded by Representative Ballweg that **Assembly Bill 684** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (16) Representative Murphy; Representatives Tranel, Duchow, Ballweg, Wittke,

Summerfield, Stafsholt, Krug, Quinn, Petryk, Shankland, Billings, Stubbs, Emerson, Hesselbein and Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Diane Handrick

Committee Clerk