Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 536

Relating to: establishing a career advancement scholarship program and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Nygren, Billings, Anderson, Bowen, Edming, Hebl, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Ohnstad, Petryk, Pope, Ramthun, Sinicki, Skowronski, Subeck, C. Taylor, Felzkowski, Rohrkaste, Born, Zimmerman, Loudenbeck and Katsma; cosponsored by Senators Feyen, Larson, Bernier, Olsen, Ringhand and Darling.

October 14, 2019 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

December 12, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present: (10) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Ballweg, Wittke, Krug, Shankland,
Stubbs, Emerson, Hesselbein and Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (6) Representatives Duchow, Summerfield, Stafsholt, Quinn, Petryk and Billings.

Appearances For

- Rep. John Nygren author
- Sen. Daniel Feyen author
- Chancellor Andy Leavitt UW-Oshkosh
- Rebecca Larson WAICU
- Amy Pearce Lakeland University
- Kevin McShane Herzing University
- Kevin McShane Wisconsin Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators
- Ann Ilagan Wisconsin Student Government
- Stacy Doran Fox Valley Technical Colleges/WTCS
- Ben Joniaux UW-Green Bay
- Samantha Post UW-Green Bay
- Aliesha Crow Northeast Wisconsin Technical College

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Tom Keily - Education Commission of the States

Registrations For

Phyillis Rieder

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 23, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present: (16) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Duchow, Ballweg, Wittke,
Summerfield, Stafsholt, Krug, Quinn, Petryk,
Shankland, Billings, Stubbs, Emerson,
Hesselbein and Anderson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Ballweg, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Ballweg, Summerfield, Stafsholt,
Krug, Quinn, Petryk, Shankland, Billings,
Stubbs, Emerson, Hesselbein and Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Krug, seconded by Representative Billings that **Assembly Bill 536** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Ballweg, Summerfield, Stafsholt,
Krug, Quinn, Petryk, Shankland, Billings,
Stubbs, Emerson, Hesselbein and Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Diane Handrick
Committee Clerk