Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 452

Relating to: the University of Wisconsin Missing-in-Action Recovery and Identification Project and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Skowronski, Sinicki, VanderMeer, Hesselbein, Allen, Anderson, Billings, Bowen, Brandtjen, Brostoff, Considine, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Emerson, Fields, Gruszynski, Hebl, Horlacher, Jagler, James, Katsma, Knodl, Krug, Kulp, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, B. Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pope, Ramthun, Riemer, Rodriguez, Sargent, Shankland, Sortwell, Spiros, Spreitzer, Stubbs, Stuck, Subeck, Summerfield, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, Vruwink, Wittke, Zamarripa, Zimmerman, Gundrum and Felzkowski; cosponsored by Senators Roth, Kooyenga, Miller, Risser, Carpenter, Cowles, Darling, Erpenbach, Feyen, Hansen, Kapenga, Larson, LeMahieu, Marklein, Nass, Petrowski, Ringhand, Schachtner, L. Taylor, Wanggaard, Wirch, Testin, Fitzgerald and Bernier.

September 18, 2019 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

October 17, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (11) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Duchow, Ballweg, Wittke, Petryk, Shankland,
Billings, Stubbs, Emerson, Hesselbein and
Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (5) Representatives Tranel, Summerfield, Stafsholt, Krug and Quinn.

Appearances For

- Rep. Ken Skowronski author
- Al Labelle DAV
- Paul Fisk American Legion
- Charles Konsitzke U of WI Missing in Action and Identification Project
- Torrey Tiedeman U of WI Missing in Action and Identification Project
- Rep. Christine Sinicki 20th Assembly District

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Samantha Zinnen
- Leslie Eisenberg UW-Madison MIA project
- Jack O'Meara PROFS (UW-Madison faculty)
- Rep. Dianne Hesselbein 79th Assembly District
- Sen. Dale Kooyenga 5th Senate District
- Sen. Roger Roth 19th Senate District
- Ryan Wubben
- President Ray Cross UW System

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 23, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Duchow, Ballweg, Wittke,
Summerfield, Stafsholt, Quinn, Petryk,
Shankland, Billings, Stubbs, Emerson,
Hesselbein and Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Krug.

Moved by Representative Wittke, seconded by Representative Shankland that **Assembly Bill 452** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Duchow, Ballweg, Wittke,
Summerfield, Stafsholt, Quinn, Petryk,
Shankland, Billings, Stubbs, Emerson,
Hesselbein and Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Diane Handrick
Committee Clerk