# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Colleges and Universities**

## **Assembly Bill 161**

Relating to: late payment of tuition benefits for student veterans enrolled in the University of Wisconsin System or a technical college.

By Representatives James, Skowronski, Ballweg, Brandtjen, Edming, Horlacher, Jagler, Kitchens, Knodl, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Magnafici, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, L. Myers, Ramthun, Rohrkaste, Sinicki, Sortwell, Spiros, Tusler, VanderMeer, Wichgers and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Kooyenga, Carpenter, Bernier, Cowles, Jacque, Nass and L. Taylor.

April 11, 2019 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

## September 12, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (11) Representative Murphy; Representatives Duchow, Wittke, Summerfield, Krug, Shankland, Billings, Stubbs, Emerson, Hesselbein and Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (5) Representatives Tranel, Ballweg, Stafsholt, Quinn and Petryk.

## Appearances For

- Rep. Jesse James 68th Assembly District
- Margo Keys Chippewa Valley Technical College
- Alex Franke Student, UW Madison
- Edward A. Cadwell WI Commander, Sons of AMVETS
- Mike Hanke AMVETS WI
- Gerald Van Ert Jr
- Robert Sanders

#### Appearances Against

• None.

## Appearances for Information Only

None.

### Registrations For

- Kathy Still WI Dept. of Veterans Affairs
- Sen. Dale Kooyenga 5th Senate District

### Registrations Against

None.

## Registrations for Information Only

• President Ray Cross - UW System

## October 02, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Ballweg, Wittke, Summerfield,
Stafsholt, Krug, Quinn, Petryk, Billings,
Hesselbein and Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Duchow, Shankland, Stubbs

and Emerson.

Moved by Representative Krug, seconded by Representative Ballweg that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representative Murphy; Representatives Tranel, Ballweg, Wittke, Summerfield, Stafsholt, Krug, Quinn, Petryk, Billings, Hesselbein and Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Summerfield, seconded by Representative Stafsholt that **Assembly Bill 161** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Ballweg, Wittke, Summerfield,
Stafsholt, Krug, Quinn, Petryk, Billings,
Hesselbein and Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Diane Handrick

Committee Clerk