Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 189

Relating to: transferability of courses between the University of Wisconsin System, technical college system, and tribally controlled and private colleges.

By Representatives Born, Zimmerman, Jagler, Duchow, Skowronski, Gundrum, Plumer, Tusler, Edming, Mursau, Brooks, Dittrich, Felzkowski, Knodl, Horlacher, Murphy, Krug, James, Kulp, L. Myers and Kuglitsch; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Feyen, Nass, Marklein, Wanggaard and Testin.

April 25, 2019 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

September 12, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present: (11) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Duchow, Wittke, Summerfield, Krug,
Shankland, Billings, Stubbs, Emerson,
Hesselbein and Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (5) Representatives Tranel, Ballweg, Stafsholt,

Quinn and Petryk.

Appearances For

- Rep. Mark Born 39th Assembly District
- Sen. Duey Stroebel 20th Senate District
- Jennifer Lanter Fox Valley Technical College
- Robyn Ludtke Waukesha County Business Alliance
- Dr. Jim Barrett Moraine Park Technical College

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Jeff Buhrandt UW System
- Carleen VandeZande UW System
- Tracy Davidson UW System
- Dr. Todd Stebbens Madison Area Technical College
- Glen Schwalbach

Registrations For

- Layla Merrifield WI Technical College District Boards Association
- Joe Strohl College of Menomonee Nation

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

- President Ray Cross UW System
- Dr. Rolf Wegenke WI Association of Independent Colleges and Universities

October 02, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Ballweg, Wittke, Summerfield,
Stafsholt, Krug, Quinn, Petryk, Billings,
Hesselbein and Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Duchow, Shankland, Stubbs

and Emerson.

Moved by Representative Wittke, seconded by Representative Petryk that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representative Murphy; Representatives Tranel, Ballweg, Wittke, Summerfield, Stafsholt, Krug, Quinn, Petryk, Billings, Hesselbein and Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Krug, seconded by Representative Ballweg that **Assembly Bill 189** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Ballweg, Wittke, Summerfield,
Stafsholt, Krug, Quinn, Petryk, Billings and
Anderson.

Noes: (1) Representative Hesselbein.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 1

Diane Handrick
Committee Clerk