Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Children and Families

Assembly Bill 41

Relating to: prosecuting a person under the age of 18 with committing an act of prostitution.

By Representatives Billings, Steineke, Emerson, Thiesfeldt, Kitchens, Rohrkaste, Hebl, Kolste, Kulp, Goyke, Zamarripa, Vining, Shankland, Vruwink, C. Taylor, Subeck, Tittl, Neubauer, Doyle, Sargent, Mursau, Brostoff, Pope, Snyder, Spiros, Crowley, Felzkowski, Considine, Stubbs, Zimmerman, Pronschinske, Meyers, Spreitzer, Ramthun, Sinicki, James, Gundrum, Wittke, Myers, Kurtz, Ohnstad, Sortwell, Skowronski, Anderson, Krug, Murphy, Fields, Petryk, Ott, Gruszynski, Riemer, Steffen, Tusler and Cabrera; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Johnson, Schachtner, Feyen, L. Taylor, Carpenter, Bewley, Shilling, Ringhand, Wirch, Smith, Risser, Cowles, Jacque, Olsen, Hansen, Erpenbach, Larson, Miller and Kooyenga.

February 28, 2019 Referred to Committee on Children and Families

March 27, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (11) Representative Snyder; Representatives
Ramthun, Kerkman, Ballweg, Vorpagel,
Gundrum, James, Subeck, Billings, Bowen and
Vining.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Pronschinske.

Appearances For

- Representative Jill Billings 95th Assembly District
- Nadya Perez-Reyes Wisconsin Department of Children and Families
- John Elliott Wisconsin Department of Children and Families
- Fredi Bove Wisconsin Department of Children and Families
- Andrea Kaminski League of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- Shirley Paulson Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America
- Helen Sheahan Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America
- Lori Wells Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America

- Pastor Cindy Crane Lutheran Office for Public Policy of Wisconsin
- Margaret Stanifortz
- Kelsey Johnson Lutheran Office for Public Policy in Wisconsin
- Jay Reinke Human Trafficking Task Force of Greater Milwaukee
- Dana World-Patterson Human Trafficking Task Force of Greater Milwaukee
- Diane Rondini State Bar of Wisconsin-Child Law Section
- Adam Plotkin State Public Defender
- Judge Ramona Gonzalez
- Dawn Spang Eye Heart World
- Mary Spaulding Eye Heart World
- David Wolken Waukesha County Anti-Trafficking Task Force
- Morgan Meadows
- Jarrett Luckett Exploit No More
- Melania Klemowitz Exploit No More
- Chase Tarrier End Domestic Abuse Wisconsin
- Rebecca Nielsen
- Katrina Morrison Wisconsin Women's Policy Institute
- Diane Rondini State Public Defender

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Tara Chavez-Perez

Registrations For

- Jan Miyasaki
- Jodi Bloch Children's Hospital of Wisconsin
- John Bauknecht Umos
- Courtney Andam
- Representative Bob Wittke 62nd Assembly District
- Attorney General Josh Kaul Wisconsin Office of the Attorney General
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Margo Holzman Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America
- Kris Moelter Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Board

- Lynne Davis State Bar of Wisconsin-Child Law Section
- Adrienne Ramirez
- Deacon Vicki Hanrahan South Central Snyod of Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Church of America
- Senator Alberta Darling 8th Senate District
- Kathy Markeland Wisconsin Association of Family and Children's Agencies
- Phyllis Christie Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America
- Wanda Fischer Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America
- Pamela Schuelke Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America
- Nancy Becker-Nagan Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America
- Gloria Jaeger Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America
- Representative Jodi Emerson 91st Assembly District
- Judge Brad Schimel
- Dr. Marlene Weisenbeck La Crosse Task Force to End Modern Slavery
- Brenda Bayer The Women's Community
- Ellen Merker Heart Consulting LLC
- Sarah Bendtsen Shared Hope International
- Danielle Decker City of Milwaukee
- Dr. Joy Ippolito
- Ian Henderson Wisconsin Coalition Against Sexual Assault

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

April 10, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Snyder; Representatives Ramthun, Kerkman, Ballweg, Vorpagel, Pronschinske, Gundrum, James, Subeck, Billings, Bowen and Vining.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Gundrum, seconded by Representative Ramthun that **Assembly Bill 41** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (12) Representative Snyder; Representatives Ramthun, Kerkman, Ballweg, Vorpagel, Pronschinske, Gundrum, James, Subeck, Billings, Bowen and Vining.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Storm Linjer Committee Clerk