# Assembly Record of Committee Proceedings

# **Committee on Campaigns and Elections**

## **Assembly Bill 203**

Relating to: using an electronic voting machine to cast a vote with an in-person absentee ballot and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Brandtjen, L. Myers, Allen, Brooks, Considine, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Fields, Horlacher, Hutton, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Macco, Pronschinske, Quinn, Ramthun, Riemer, Sinicki, Skowronski, Tittl, Wichgers and Ohnstad; cosponsored by Senators Craig, L. Taylor, Carpenter, Jacque, Johnson, Kapenga, Kooyenga, Larson, Nass, Stroebel, Wanggaard and Wirch.

May 10, 2019 Referred to Committee on Campaigns and Elections

# May 29, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(7)	Representative Tusler; Representatives
		Brandtjen, Sortwell, Murphy, Zamarripa,
		Subeck and Spreitzer.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Sanfelippo and Macco.

## Appearances For

- Representative Janel Brandtjen 22nd Assembly District
- Senator Lena Taylor 4th Senate District
- Lori Stottler City of Beloit
- Sandy Juno Brown County
- Carla Ledesma City of Wauwatosa
- Cassandra Suettinger Village of McFarland
- Meg Wartman Waukesha County, Wisconsin
- Sharon Leari Town of Genesee; WI Towns Ass'n Waukesha Co. Unit
- Paul Malischke
- Kelly Michaels City of Brookfield; Wisconsin Municipal Clerks Association

Appearances Against

- Andrea Kaminski League of Women Voters
- Lisa Tollefson Wisconsin County Clerks Association
- Lisa Tollefson Rock County, Wisconsin
- Debra Morin

Appearances for Information Only

- Administrator Meagan Wolfe Wisconsin Elections
  Commission
- Assistant Administrator Richard Rydecki Wisconsin Elections Commission

#### Registrations For

- Senator Dave Craig 28th Senate District
- Meri Majeskie Town of Genesee
- Carolyn Clow
- Joan Andrusz Wisconsin Municipal Clerks Association
- Tanya O'Malley Village of McFarland
- Steven Braatz Jr. City of West Allis
- Elna Hilby City of Sun Prarie
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Brenda Wood City of Milwaukee
- Gil Halsted

#### **Registrations** Against

• None.

#### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## June 18, 2019Executive Session Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Tusler; Representatives
		Sanfelippo, Brandtjen, Macco, Sortwell,
		Murphy, Zamarripa, Subeck and Spreitzer.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Sortwell that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (9) Representative Tusler; Representatives Sanfelippo, Brandtjen, Macco, Sortwell, Murphy, Zamarripa, Subeck and Spreitzer.
- Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

> Ayes: (9) Representative Tusler; Representatives Sanfelippo, Brandtjen, Macco, Sortwell, Murphy, Zamarripa, Subeck and Spreitzer.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Macco that **Assembly Bill 203** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes:(8)Representative Tusler; Representatives<br/>Brandtjen, Macco, Sortwell, Murphy,<br/>Zamarripa, Subeck and Spreitzer.
- Noes: (1) Representative Sanfelippo.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 1

Evan Umpir Committee Clerk