Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 894

Relating to: livestock facility siting and expansion and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Tranel, Tauchen, Kurtz, Novak, Ballweg, Summerfield and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Bernier, Feyen, LeMahieu and Olsen.

February 11, 2020 Referred to Committee on Agriculture

February 13, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Tauchen; Representatives

Novak, Kurtz, Tranel, Kitchens, VanderMeer, Mursau, Edming, Pronschinske, Plumer,

Considine, Vruwink, Kolste and Spreitzer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative L. Myers.

Appearances For

- Dave Wade Wisconsin pork association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Pork Association
- Mr Mike Koles Wisc towns assoc
- Larry Konapacki Wisc towns assoc
- Joe Ruth Wisconsin Towns Association
- Rep Travis Tranel 49th
- Debi Towns WI Farm Bureau
- Cynthia Leitner Wisconsin dairy alliance
- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Association
- Sen. Howard Marklein 17th Senate District

Appearances Against

- Adam Voskuil Midwest Environmental Advocates, Inc.
- Peg Sheaffer Myself
- Dept director Jerry Halverson Manitowoc County spoi l Manitowoc County soil and water
- Ms Marianne Ewig Self
- Kara Oconnor Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Edie Ehlert Crawford stewardship project
- Edward Cohen

Appearances for Information Only

- Sara Walling DATCP
- Angela James DATCP
- Scott Manley Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce

Registrations For

- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Cattlemens Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Association of Professional Agricultural Consultants
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Kristen Faucon Growmark inc
- Jon Turke WI Bankers Association
- Dan Bahr Wisconsin countries association

Registrations Against

• Jennifer Giegerich - WI Conservation Voters

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 18, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present: (0) None. Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kurtz, seconded by Representative Tranel that **Assembly Bill 894** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Tauchen; Representatives Novak, Kurtz, Tranel, Kitchens, VanderMeer, Mursau, Edming, Pronschinske and Plumer.

Noes: (5) Representatives Considine, Vruwink, Kolste, Spreitzer and L. Myers.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Craig Arrowood
Committee Clerk