Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 795

Relating to: grants and funding for water stewardship certification, a grazing coordinator position, producer-led watershed protection grants, lake protection, soil and water conservation, and crop insurance premium rebates for cover crops; granting rule-making authority; and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Tranel, Kurtz, Tauchen, Krug, Summerfield, Novak, Kitchens, Felzkowski, Shankland, Pope, Hebl, Kulp, Gruszynski, VanderMeer, Anderson, Zimmerman, Considine, Neubauer, Oldenburg, Sargent, Mursau, Ballweg, Doyle, Magnafici, Kolste, Petryk, Plumer, Swearingen, Vining, Stubbs, Subeck, Milroy, Katsma, C. Taylor, Quinn, Spreitzer, Sinicki, Emerson, Zamarripa, Ohnstad, Cabrera, Billings, Vruwink, Born, Ott and Spiros; cosponsored by Senators Cowles, Jacque, Petrowski, Feyen, Olsen, Wanggaard, Wirch and Smith.

January 24, 2020 Referred to Committee on Agriculture

February 04, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Tauchen; Representatives
Novak, Kurtz, Tranel, Kitchens, VanderMeer,
Mursau, Edming, Pronschinske, Considine,
Vruwink, Kolste and Spreitzer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Plumer and L. Myers.

Appearances For

- Kara O'Connor Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Michael Dolan Seven Seeds Farm
- Rep. Travis Tranel 47th District
- Sen Rob Cowles 2nd Senate District
- Matt Howard Alliance for Waterstewardship
- David Trimmer Miltrim Farms
- Michael Thomas Rivers Alliance of Wisconsin
- Ryan Klussendorf
- Rachel Bouresso
- Dan Meyer Farm Bureau
- Adam Worhesen Organic Vallev
- Caleb Langworthy
- Mariann Holm
- Kevin Mahalla Farm
- Michael Engleson Wisconsin Lakes

- Scott Mericka WI Farmers Union
- Joel McNair
- Doran Holm Holm Boys Dairy
- Doug Debout Wis Corn Growers Assoc

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Sara Walling DATCP
- Bradford Steine DATCP
- Carroll Schaal WI DNR

Registrations For

- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Association
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Business
- Rep. Todd Novak
- Cindy Crane Lutheran Office for Public Policy in WI
- Dean Amhaus The Water Council
- George Meyer WI Wildlife Federation
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Corn Growers
- Rep. Katrina Shankland
- Brandon Scholz WI Wetlands Association
- Carly Michiels Clean Wisconsin
- Jennifer Giegerich WI Conservation Voters
- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Assoc of Local Health Departments and Boards
- Erik Kanter WI Public Health Association
- Rebekah Sweeney WCMA
- Debi Towns WI Farm Bureau
- Jordan Lamb WI Association of Professional Ag Consultants
- Jordan Lamb Wis Cattlemen's Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Pork Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Potato and Vegtable Growers
- Jordan Lamb WI State Cranberry Growers Assn
- Jennifer Wickman Cooperative Network
- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Associaiton
- Matt Krueger WI Land and Water
- Terry Loeffelholz LaFayette County LCD
- Melissa Schlupp Sauk County Land Resources and Environment Dept
- Lynda Schweikert Grant Co SCLD
- Katie Abbott Iowa County Land Conservation Dept

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 06, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Tauchen; Representatives

Novak, Kurtz, Tranel, Kitchens, VanderMeer, Mursau, Edming, Pronschinske, Plumer, Considine, Vruwink, Kolste, Spreitzer and L.

Myers.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kurtz, seconded by Representative Considine that **Assembly Bill 795** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Representative Tauchen; Representatives

Novak, Kurtz, Tranel, Kitchens, VanderMeer, Mursau, Edming,

Pronschinske, Plumer, Considine, Vruwink,

Kolste, Spreitzer and L. Myers.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Craig Arrowood Committee Clerk