Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Sporting Heritage, Mining and Forestry

Senate Bill 395

Relating to: the regulation of nonferrous metallic mining, prospecting, exploration, and bulk sampling, repealing administrative rules relating to wetlands, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Senators Tiffany, Fitzgerald, Darling, LeMahieu, Moulton, Feyen, Stroebel, Kapenga, Wanggaard, Craig, Lasee, Nass and Vukmir; cosponsored by Representatives Hutton, Kulp, Jarchow, Rodriguez, Horlacher, Quinn, Macco, Sanfelippo, Edming, Kremer, Gannon, Tauchen, Duchow, Kleefisch, Skowronski, Wichgers, Knodl, Bernier, Kooyenga, R. Brooks, Zimmerman and Brandtjen.

August 29, 2017 Referred to Committee on Sporting Heritage, Mining and Forestry

September 07, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Tiffany; Senators Testin, Moulton,

Wirch and Erpenbach.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Tom Tiffany 12th Senate District
- Representative Rob Hutton 13th Assembly District
- Al Christianson City of Ladysmith
- Paul Kent Keweenaw Copper
- Senator Tom Casperson MI 38th Senate District
- Leona Aglukkaq
- Dr. Roger Morton
- Russ Decker
- Laura Skaer American Exploration and Mining Association
- Andrea Zupancich Mayor of Babbitt, MN
- Mike Banovetz
- Steve Donohue Foth
- Rep. James Edming 87th Assembly District
- Casey Aronson
- Lucas Vebber WMC
- David Hackert
- Herb Krause
- Adam Kaseno

Appearances Against

- Al Gedicks WI Resources Protection Council
- Laura Gauger
- Sister Cecilia Fandel
- Joseph Baye
- Al Manson
- Ruth Meszaros
- David Skrupky
- James Pappa Midwest Environmental Advocates
- Chrysa Osteuso
- Sarah Barry Clean Wisconsin
- Paul Matthewson Clean Wisconsin
- Matt Dannenberg WI League of Conservation Voters
- Lawrence Mann
- Tina VanZile Sokaogon, Mole Lake Band of the Lake Superior Chippewa
- Allison Werner River Alliance of Wisconsin
- Joan Duerst Sinsinawa Dominicans
- Crystal Chapman-Chevalier Menominee Nation Legislator
- Anthony Brown Protectors of Menominee River
- Dave Blouin Sierra Club
- Rob Kennedy
- Stephanie Thompson
- Regina Chaltry
- Grace Chaltry
- Paula Mohan
- John Schneider
- Dale Burie
- Jeffery Budish
- Mary Louise Sutor
- May Hansen
- Lea Jane Burie
- Rob Ganson The Aardvark Society
- Marsha Stelzer
- Burton Warrington
- Adam Greuel
- Dave Noel
- Karl Fate Oneida County Clean Water Action
- Frank Koehn
- Scott Lindquist
- Douglas Stephen
- Guy Reiter

Appearances for Information Only

- Pat Stevens WI DNR
- George Meyer WI Wildlife Federation
- Tom Harter

Registrations For

- Dave Anderson Aquila Resources
- Representative Bob Kulp 69th Assembly District
- Nathan Conrad Natural Resource Development Association
- Bill Cronk
- Wendy Gehlhoff Florence County Economic Development
- Pat Goss Wisconsin Transportation Builders Association

Registrations Against

- Don Dunphy
- Earl Dougouito
- John Emdrizzi
- Terry Cummings
- John See
- Jeff Paterson
- Eileen Lonsdorf
- David Barnhill
- Daniel Agne
- Ernest Agne
- Ruben Garcia
- Dale Crisler
- Louise Ladenthin
- Steven Schreier
- Thomas Jerow
- Joyce Juergens
- Lee Balek
- Gayle Johnson
- Mary Federle
- Mona Manson
- James Kurz
- James Kowski
- Cardyn Garnett Ho-Chunk Nation
- Eric Ringstad
- Victoria Ringstad
- Phyllis Hasbrouck
- Elizabeth Ward

- Janet Kurz
- Diane Skrupky
- John Kraemer
- Theresa Franzen
- Sarah Besadny
- Colleen Peters
- Nathan Poday
- James Meiens
- Ruthann Dunphy
- George Thompson
- Achayman

Registrations for Information Only

None.

October 04, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (5) Senator Tiffany; Senators Testin, Moulton,

Wirch and Erpenbach.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Moulton, seconded by Senator Testin that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senator Tiffany; Senators Testin and Moulton.

Noes: (2) Senators Wirch and Erpenbach.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Moved by Senator Testin, seconded by Senator Moulton that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Senator Tiffany; Senators Testin, Moulton and Wirch.

Noes: (1) Senator Erpenbach.

SENATE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Moved by Senator Moulton, seconded by Senator Testin that **Senate Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senator Tiffany; Senators Testin and Moulton.

Noes: (2) Senators Wirch and Erpenbach.

SENATE AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Moved by Senator Testin, seconded by Senator Moulton that **Senate Amendment 5** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senator Tiffany; Senators Testin and Moulton.

Noes: (2) Senators Wirch and Erpenbach.

SENATE AMENDMENT 5 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Moved by Senator Testin, seconded by Senator Moulton that **Senate Amendment 6** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Senator Tiffany; Senators Testin, Moulton and Wirch.

Noes: (1) Senator Erpenbach.

SENATE AMENDMENT 6 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Moved by Senator Testin, seconded by Senator Moulton that **Senate Amendment 7** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senator Tiffany; Senators Testin and Moulton.

Noes: (2) Senators Wirch and Erpenbach.

SENATE AMENDMENT 7 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Moved by Senator Moulton, seconded by Senator Testin that **Senate Bill 395** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (3) Senator Tiffany; Senators Testin and Moulton.

Noes: (2) Senators Wirch and Erpenbach.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Mitchel Ohly Committee Clerk