Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Revenue, Financial Institutions and Rural Issues

Senate Bill 668

Relating to: the limit on tax credits that may be certified under the historic rehabilitation tax credit.

By Senators Darling, Feyen, Roth, Shilling, Olsen, Carpenter, Bewley, Hansen and Cowles; cosponsored by Representatives Rohrkaste, R. Brooks, Horlacher, Nygren, Born, Kitchens, Felzkowski, Jacque, Rodriguez, Kerkman, Anderson, Goyke, Berceau, VanderMeer, Ballweg, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Ohnstad, Novak, Genrich, Brostoff, Barca, Ott, Kolste, Subeck, Murphy, Tranel, Bernier, Riemer, E. Brooks, Fields, Krug, Stuck, Shankland, Spreitzer, Doyle, C. Taylor, Billings and Skowronski.

December 21, 2017 Referred to Committee on Revenue, Financial Institutions and Rural Issues

January 10, 2018 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Marklein; Senators LeMahieu, Tiffany,

Ringhand and Vinehout.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Sen. Alberta Darling 8th Senate District
- Rep. Mike Rohrkaste 55th Assembly District
- Mayor Mike Vandersteen City of Sheboygan
- Mayor Dale Oppermann City of Jefferson
- Tim Freitag City of Jefferson
- Edward Matkon Gorman & Company
- Lon Arbegust AD German Warehouse
- Brenda Wood City of Milwaukee

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Jim Draeger - WI Historical Society

Registrations For

- Alice O'Connor Gorman Co.
- Jonathan Beck Alexander Co.

- Jason Tish Archetype Historic Property Consultants, LLC
- Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities
- Mark Reihl North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters
- William Babcock Wisconsin Society of Architects
- Tom Larson WI Realtors Assoc. & NAIOP WI
- Sen. Dan Feyen 18th Senate District
- Michael Welsh WI Economic Development Assoc.
- David Uihlein
- Joe Alexander Alexander Co.
- Dawn McCarthy Milwaukee Preservation Alliance
- Joe Leibham WI Historic Tax Credit Coalition

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 17, 2018 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (5) Senator Marklein; Senators LeMahieu, Tiffany, Ringhand and Vinehout.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Bill 668** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senator Marklein; Senators LeMahieu, Tiffany, Ringhand and Vinehout.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Vincent Williams
Committee Clerk