Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor and Regulatory Reform

Senate Bill 216

Relating to: elimination of the requirement that laborers, workers, mechanics, and truck drivers employed on the site of a project of public works be paid the prevailing wage.

By Senators Vukmir, Stroebel, Craig, Darling, Kapenga, Lasee, LeMahieu, Nass, Tiffany and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Hutton, Sanfelippo, Jacque, Allen, August, Born, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Duchow, Felzkowski, Gannon, Horlacher, Jagler, Jarchow, Katsma, Kleefisch, Knodl, Kooyenga, Kremer, Kuglitsch, Macco, Neylon, Ott, Petersen, Quinn, Rohrkaste, Schraa, Skowronski, Steineke, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Vos and Wichgers.

April 20, 2017 Referred to Committee on Labor and Regulatory Reform

April 24, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard, Lasee,

Wirch and Ringhand.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Leah Vukmir Author
- Representative Rob Hutton Co-Author
- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity
- John Schulze Associated Builders and Contractors of WI

Appearances Against

- Daniel Bukiewicz Milwaukee Building and Construction Trades Council
- Leroy Miller
- Paul Fisk
- Doug Volland
- Luke Burnamen
- Kent Miller WI Laborers District Council
- Anthony Anestasi Ironworkers Local 383
- Keith Kemper Sheet Metal Workers Local 28
- Josh Garner Sheet Metal Workers Local 18
- Terry Hayden WI Pipe Trades Assn.
- Luis Garcia

- Stephanie Bloomingdale WI AFL-CIO
- Ron Hanko
- Andy Buck Painters and Allied Trades
- Mark Reihl North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- Senator Duey Stroebel
- Jason Culotta WMC
- Steve Baas Milwaukee Metro Assn of Commerce
- Annette Olson

Registrations Against

- Scott Watson
- Mark Hoffmann IBEW Local 159
- Dave Branson
- Genie Ogden
- David Coenen
- Lee Polencheck
- Harley Simon
- Adam Schroeder
- Steve Breitlow Plumbers Union Local 75
- Todd Langreck
- Eric Peterson Milwaukee County Executive's Office
- Rita Held
- Stephen Held
- Jeff Graecke Mechanical Contractors Assn of WI
- Joseph Lotegeluaki
- Todd Dischler
- Steve Doruinen
- Mike Higgins
- Representative Christine Sinicki
- Joe Mrotek
- Eduardo Flores WallTech
- Carlos Flores WallTech
- Pat Goss WI Transportation Builders Assn
- Tom Barton
- James Bakken

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

May 02, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (5) Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard, Lasee,

Wirch and Ringhand.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Ringhand, seconded by Senator Wirch that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (2) Senators Wirch and Ringhand.

Noes: (3) Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard and Lasee.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 2, Noes 3

Moved by Senator Nass, seconded by Senator Wanggaard that **Senate Bill 216** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard and Lasee.

Noes: (2) Senators Wirch and Ringhand.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Mike Mikalsen

Committee Clerk